OER-Final

Repositories & Collections

• Smart History 
  • A website with images, videos, and information about art from Prehistoric sculptures to 20th century Architecture.
• The Metropolitan Museum of Art

  Public domain images from the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Art & Art History

• Guide to Ancient Greek Art 
  • A compilation of all Smarthistory resources on Greek art, compiled as a pdf and print version.
• Guide to Ancient Roman Art 
  • A compilation of all Smarthistory resources on Roman art, compiled as a pdf and print version.
• Asian Art History 
  • An introduction to Asian art, covering the art of India, China, Tibet, Korea, Japan, and Islamic peoples.
• Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning 
  • Authored by four USG faculty members with advance degrees in the arts, this textbooks offers up-to-date original scholarship and over 400 high-quality images illustrating the history of art, its technical applications, and its many uses.
• Art Appreciation 101 
  • Art Appreciation thoroughly investigates how quality is determined and created by artists in order to evaluate and appreciate art on a deeper level. Students are first introduced to the elements and principles of art and then different periods in art history, different techniques in art, and how to research and evaluate art.
• A Quick & Dirty Guide to Art, Music, & Culture 
  • A textbook by Clayton Funk, instructor of Arts Administration, Education, and Policy at Ohio State University.
• Art and Music Since 1945

  This open website is used for a course on Art and Music since 1945 offered at The Ohio State University. The website contains a collection of biographies of artists and musicians, a sample syllabus, and assignments. Its companion textbook is meant to be A Quick and Dirty Guide to Art, Music, and Culture.

• Art History: Curriculum Resources from the Met

  Although focused on the needs of K-12 instructors, these resources from the Metropolitan Museum of Art provide useful overviews of ancient art from around the world.

Graphic Design

• Digital Foundations

  Written by two artist educators who teach digital art and design studio foundation classes, this book is a mash-up of the Bauhaus Basic Course and an overview of open source software such as Inkscape, Gimp, Firefox, and Processing.

• Graphic Design and Print Production Fundamentals 
  • This textbook addresses different aspects of the design process, from creation to production. Each chapter includes exercises and suggested readings.
• Computer Graphics and Computer Animation: A Retrospective Overview 
  • This book was developed in an attempt to maintain in one location the information and references that point to the many important historical developments of the short life of the computer graphics world as we know it.
• Introduction to Computer Graphics 
  • Introduction to Computer Graphics is a free, online textbook covering the fundamentals of computer graphics and computer graphics programming.
• The Elements of Typographic Style Applied to the Web

  In order to allay some of the myths surrounding typography on the web, I have structured this website to step through Bringhurst’s working principles, explaining how to accomplish each using techniques available in HTML and CSS.

• Art History Teaching Resources

  A peer-populated platform for art history teachers, AHTR is home to a constantly evolving and collectively authored online repository of art history teaching content including, but not limited to, lesson plans, book reviews, image clusters, and classroom and museum activities.

• Introduction to Technical Theatre 
  • An Introduction to Technical Theatre draws on the author’s experience in both the theatre and the classroom over the last 30 years. Intended as a resource for both secondary and post-secondary theatre courses, this text provides a comprehensive overview of technical theatre, including terminology and general practices.
• Actors and the Art of Performance [pdf] 
  • Actors and the Art of Performance opens with a cascade of contradictory motives for becoming an actor. These motives converge in the particular fascination of theater, in which ethics are realized in the aesthetic.
• [Theater] La France Sauvée ou le Tyran Détrôné: A Dramaturgical Casebook 
  • This a dramaturgical casebook on La France Sauvée, an unfinished play by Olympe de Gouges, translated by Clarissa Palmer, with contextual information on the French Revolution.

• International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)

  A collection of sheet music in the public domain, with accompanying biographical and historical information.

• Music 101 
  • A text compiled from simple article overviews of music history and its movements. overs the Medieval and Renaissance, Baroque, Classical Genres, Classical Forms, Classical Composers, Early Romantic Era, Romantic Opera, Late Romantic Era, 20th Century: Impressionism, Expressionism, and Twelve-Tone, 20th Century: Introduction to Primitivism, Nationalism, and Neoclassicism, 20th Century: Aleatoric, Electronic, and Minimalist Music.
• Music and the Child 

  This book explores a holistic, artistic, and integrated approach to understanding the developmental connections between music and children. This book guides professionals to work through music, harnessing the processes that underlie music learning, and outlining developmentally appropriate methods to understand the role of music in children’s lives through play, games, creativity, and movement.

  • Music Theory
• Open Music Theory 
  • An “open-source, interactive, online book for college-level music theory courses.” The three original authors use this textbook in the context of “inverted” or “flipped” courses, often following an inquiry-based model.
• Open Music Theory, volume 1 
  • This is a new edition of Open Music Theory, an open-source, interactive, online “text”book for college-level music theory courses. Currently in production with a projected completion date of Summer 2020.
• Music Theory Materials 
  • The Music Theory Materials website was created to provide materials – musical examples, videos, and handouts – that could be useful in music theory classes. The specific goal is to provide examples of full pieces of music that can be used in the study of musical form and analysis. The musical examples are presented as downloadable PDFs and audio files or as links to other sites that contain this information.
• Understanding Basic Music Theory

  Published by Rice University, this text significantly expands upon "Introduction to Music Theory", but only covers the bare essentials. Music is a very large subject, and the advanced theory that students will want to pursue after mastering the basics will vary greatly.

• Fundamentals, Function, and Form: Theory and Analysis of Tonal Western Art Music 
  • Author Andre Mount begins by building a strong foundation in the understanding of rhythm, meter, and pitch as well as the notational conventions associated with each. From there, he guides the reader through an exploration of polyphony—the simultaneous sounding of multiple independent melodies—and an increasingly rich array of different sonorites that grow out of this practice. The book culminates with a discussion of musical form, engaging with artistic works in their entirety by considering the interaction of harmonic and thematic elements.

Music Appreciation

• Resonances: Engaging Music in Its Cultural Context 
  • Welcome to Resonances: Engaging Music in Its Cultural Context! Although this book is intended primarily for use in the college music appreciation classroom, it was designed with consideration for independent learners, advanced high school students, and experienced musicians.
• Music Appreciation 
  • The course is designed to give the student an appreciation of music by exposing them to many musical styles, composers, historical trends, as well as increasing their aural, verbal and writing skills in describing music.
• Music Appreciation (Santa Ana College) 
  • This text reviews the basic elements of music (melody, rhythm, and meter) before delving into major periods, genres, and composers. At intervals throughout the text, podcasts are provided by the author to further expand upon overarching themes within a time period's music.
• Music: Its Language, History, and Culture 
  • This textbook serves as an introduction to Music History with clear but abbreviated information about musical vocabulary, instruments and ensembles, European music, American music, World music, and musicians. It is recommended as a basic introductory text.
• Music on the Move 
  • With its innovative multimodal approach, Music on the Move invites readers to listen and engage with many different types of music as they read. The text introduces a variety of concepts related to music's travels—with or without its makers—including colonialism, migration, diaspora, mediation, propaganda, copyright, and hybridity. The case studies represent a variety of musical genres and styles, Western and non-Western, concert music, traditional music, and popular music.