The mission of the William M. Logan Library is to provide traditional and innovative information resources and services in support of the educational programs of Schreiner University. To fulfill this mission, the Library commits to the following objectives:
The Library is named for Dr. William M. Logan who was a Presbyterian minister and Chair of the Board of Trustees from 1955-1972.
Ordained in 1935 after receiving his Masters in Divinity from the Austin Seminary, Dr. Logan came to Kerrville in 1950 where he was a pastor at the First Presbyterian Church. He took on leadership roles in local organizations including Schreiner Institute where he was a Board of Trustee member and also helped found the Mo Ranch Presbyterian Retreat. He later served as a pastor in San Antonio, Austin, and Brownwood. Dr. Logan kept careful records of his sermons, and thus left his records to the library before passing in 1999. His portrait (see image right) hangs in the main part of the Library. The William M. Logan Collection is available for research by appointment.
The Library was originally housed in the Tom Murray building which was built in 1940. Then, in 1967, Logan Library began with an original building of 7,000 square feet. In 1985, a $5.5 million expansion was completed wrapping new construction completely around the original library. The Library currently consists of 34,000 square feet including the Grand Hall which was completed in 1992 with funds provided by the Fish Foundation.
The tapestry hanging in the Hall is 5 by 15 feet and was created by Becky Patterson. Based on Psalm 8, it offers Hill Country representations of Adam, Eve, and the Peaceable Kingdom.
William M. Logan Library supports undergraduate to graduate level teaching and learning by developing student-focused resources, services, and environments that support all disciplines of study and life-long educational development.