OER-Final

• Repositories & Collections

• BCCampus: Engineering Library

• Engineering LibreTexts

• MIT OpenCourseWare

• National STEM Consortium Mechatronics Courses

• Engineering Technology: Simulations for Learning

 

Mechanical / Industrial / Manufacturing Engineering

Mechanics (open textbook) 

• This is a calculus-based book meant for the first semester of a first year survey course taken by engineering and physical science majors.

Introduction to Industrial Engineering 

• This book was created for an undergraduate Introduction to Industrial Engineering course at The University of Texas at Arlington (UTA). The chapters give an overview of the profession and an introduction to some of the tools used by industrial engineers in industry. There are interactive content exercises included at the end of most chapters.

Engineering Measurements and Instrumentation: First Edition 

• This electronic book (e-book) is created with partial financial support from a grant generously provided by the Miller Open Education Mini-Grant Program expressly for use in the Iowa State course, M E 370: Engineering Measurements.

A Heat Transfer Textbook, 4th Ed. (2017) 

• This introduction to heat and mass transfer, oriented toward engineering students, may be downloaded without charge. The ebook is fully illustrated, typeset in searchable pdf format, with internal and external links.

Please note that this material is copyrighted and not a "true" OER. The authors grant you the right to download and print it for your personal use or for non-profit instructional use.

Beyond Lean: Simulation in Practice, Second Edition 

• The fundamental goal of this text is to show how discrete event simulation can be used in addition to lean thinking to achieve greater benefits in system improvement than with lean alone. Realizing this goal requires learning the problems that simulation solves as well as the methods required to solve them.

Sim Labs for Thermodynamics and Thermal Power Plant Simulator 

• This Simulator laboratory (SIMLAB) book was created to provide ancillary resources for Thermodynamics and Thermal Power Plant Simulator courses. It is intended to act as a collection of exercises to help our students merge the theory covered in the classroom with the practice performed in the labs.

System Design for Uncertainty 

• The material in these lecture notes is used in a junior- and senior-level course at MIT’s Department of Mechanical Engineering, entitled Design of Electromechanical Robotic Systems. The key ingredient in this course - and what differentiates it from many other related courses - is the uncertainty that is encountered whenever a built system is actually installed in the field. The goal is to provide fundamental relations useful for modeling and creating systems that have to operate with uncertainty.

Materials Science & Engineering

Non-Isothermal Kinetic Methods: Workbook & Laboratory Manual 

• This methodical manual focuses on a small aspect of calculations in thermal analysis dealing with constructing kinetic models from thermogravimetry and differential scanning calorimetry experimental data.

Sintering Applications 

• This peer-reviewed, open access monograph contains thirteen edited chapters written about sintering processes for ceramics fabrication.

Electrical & Computer Engineering

A First Course in Electrical and Computer Engineering

The book covers some of the essential areas that are need to be included in a first introduction ECE course, such as complex numbers, phasors or linear algebra. MATLAB programs are integrated to illustrate key ideas.

Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering I

This text focuses on the creation, manipulation, transmission, and reception of information by electronic means.

Lessons in Electric Circuits 

• A free series of textbooks on the subjects of electricity and electronics.

Electromagnetics, Vol 1 

• Electromagnetics is intended for electrical engineering students in the third year of a bachelor of science degree program. It is intended as a primary textbook for a one-semester first course in undergraduate engineering electromagnetics.

Fundamentals of Microwave and RF Design 

• Fundamentals of Microwave and RF Design enables mastery of the essential concepts required to cross the barriers to a successful career in microwave and RF design. Extensive treatment of scattering parameters, that naturally describe power flow, and of Smith-chart-based design procedures prepare the student for success.

ECE YouTube videos

Tutorial videos on signal processing and random signals from UMass Dartmouth's ECE 320 and ECE 521 courses.

 

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation

With “Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation”, first and second-year college students are introduced to this expanding new field, comprehensively exploring the essential concepts from every branch of knowledge – including engineering and the applied arts, natural and social sciences, and the humanities.

Spatial Thinking in Planning Practice: An Introduction to GIS 

• The goals of this textbook are to help students acquire the technical skills of using software and managing a database, and develop research skills of collecting data, analyzing information and presenting results.

Next Generation Infrastructures

Today’s infrastructure systems are rapidly changing, becoming more web-based, interconnected and transnational, while new technologies are on their way. This open course examines these challenges and includes case studies on sustainable energy, smart grids, and water scarcity.

Fundamentals of Transportation [Wikibooks]

Transportation moves people and goods from one place to another using a variety of vehicles across different infrastructure systems. This book is aimed at undergraduate civil engineering students, though the material may provide a useful review for practitioners.

Probabilistic Machine Learning for Civil Engineers 

• An introduction to key concepts and techniques in probabilistic machine learning for civil engineering students and professionals; with many step-by-step examples, illustrations, and exercises.

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Mechanics of Biomaterials 

• An open access book published by MDPI, Mechanics of Biomaterials is a reprint of a special issue of the journal Materials in book format.

Wikibook - Biomedical Engineering: Theory & Practice

This wikibook is designed to serve as the primary text for a two semester course in biomedical engineering.

Wikibook - Introduction to Chemical Engineering Processes

This book is for anyone who is interested in some of the basic principles behind what chemical engineers do and how they can use powerful tools from physics to solve problems involving steady-state processes.

Thermodynamics & Chemistry, 2nd Edition 

• Thermodynamics and Chemistry is designed primarily as a textbook for a one-semester course in classical chemical thermodynamics at the graduate or undergraduate level. It can also serve as a supplementary text and thermodynamics reference source.

LearnChemE

Educational Resources for Chemical Engineering from Colorado Boulder. Includes screencasts, simulations, and other resources.

Wikibook - Chemical Engineering: Tissue Engineering

This Wiki-based, student-created textbook is online free for use, widely accessible by all, and editable during the course and as topics evolve. This type of textbook format is particularly well suited to upper-level electives on topics that are rapidly emerging.

General Engineering Resources

Engineering Computations with Python

Created in Jupyter Notebooks, these modules' target audience is first-year engineering students, but the course would be equally useful to students in any science or technology field.

Fundamentals of Applied Dynamics

An introductory engineering textbook by an award-winning MIT professor that covers the history of dynamics and the dynamical analyses of mechanical, electrical, and electromechanical systems.

Repositories & Collections

• Open Chem

  Open Chemistry (OpenChem) provides a full curriculum of recorded lectures covering undergraduate chemistry plus selected graduate topics. Through lecture videos and ancillary materials, anyone in the world can effectively sit alongside UCI Irvine students and view complete undergraduate core and elective course lectures delivered by top faculty members.

• ChemCollective

  Includes tutorials, online courses, and more. From Carnegie Mellon

• LibreTexts Download Library 
  • A collection of Chemistry books from the LibreTexts library that are ready to download, print, or remix online. LibreTexts is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.

Resources

• Be Prepared! Everything you should know for 1st year Chemistry 
  • These Pre-Chemistry online modules are designed to function as chemistry preparation for first year chemistry students. It is particularly useful for students who, for various reasons, are otherwise not confident in their preparation for first year university level chemistry. These modules function effectively in both online, hybrid or even as preparation for entirely traditionally delivered courses.
• OpenStax Chemistry 
  • Chemistry is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning.
• OpenStax Chemistry: Atoms First 
  • Chemistry: Atoms First is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut.
• General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications

  Although much of first-year chemistry is taught as a service course, there is no reason that the intrinsic excitement and potential of chemistry cannot be the focal point of the text and the course. We emphasize the positive aspects of chemistry and its relationship to students’ lives, which requires bringing in applications early and often.

• Chemistry 1 Lab Manual 
  • This lab manual accompanies college Chemistry courses and is used to support and assess knowledge acquired in the classroom setting to be applied in the real world. Labs include activities such as measuring the density of a sucrose solution, calculating the percent composition, determining limiting reactants and more.
• CLUE: Chemistry, Life, the Universe, and Everything 
  • You might well ask, does the world really need another introductory chemistry textbook? The answer is, of course not—not if that book is just a variation on those currently available. This book takes an experimental approach to general chemistry, to present concepts and skills in various ways, ask students to talk about and work with their understanding, and then ask questions about what students actually mean when they use specific words and ideas. Critical to the success of this approach is time: the time required to understand what students think; the time required for students to recognize and talk about their assumptions; and the time required to listen to them explain their ideas.
• CLUE Ancillaries 
  • Chemistry, Life the Universe and Everything (CLUE) is a transformed general chemistry curriculum, developed by an interdisciplinary team of a chemist and a molecular biologist, that aims to bring about evidence based change in general chemistry. CLUE was developed using a design research approach that focuses on scaffolded progressions around four core ideas: structure and properties, bonding and interactions, energy, and change and stability. The materials developed include a text (supplied free to students), lecture support materials, workshop/recitation activities, video mini-lectures, and formative and summative assessment materials.
• Analytical Chemistry 2.0

  Analytical chemistry is more than a collection of analytical methods and an understanding of equilibrium chemistry; it is an approach to solving chemical problems. Although equilibrium chemistry and analytical methods are important, their coverage should not come at the expense of other equally important topics.

• The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry 
  • The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W. Ball, John W. Hill, and Rhonda J. Scott is for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course. It is 20 chapters in length and approximately 350-400 pages; just the right breadth and depth for instructors to teach and students to grasp.
• Organic Chemistry With a Biological Emphasis: Volumes I & II

  A free, open-access organic chemistry textbook (volumes I and II) in which the main focus is on relevance to biology and medicine. This is a PDF version of a wiki project called Chemwiki at the University of California, Davis. There are also supplementary materials, such as PowerPoint slides and a solutions manual available for this textbook at the Chemwiki website.

• Organic Chemistry Laboratory Techniques 
  • In this resource you will find theory and procedures on the main organic lab techniques (chromatography, crystallization, extraction, distillation) as well as general concepts on how to set up and heat apparatuses (see the Table of Contents tab for a more complete listing of topics).
• How to be a Successful Organic Chemist 
  • How to be a successful organic chemist is meant as an introductory text for undergraduates taking organic chemistry teaching labs. The text is a clear and practical introduction to safety, chemical handling, organic chemistry techniques, and lab reports.

Life Sciences

Repositories & Collections

• LibreTexts Bookshelf - Biology

• Open Textbook Library - Biology

• Open Textbook Library - Medicine

• The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)

  The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education.

Biology​

• OpenStax Biology 2nd Edition

  Biology is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens.

• OpenStax Concepts of Biology

  Concepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.

• Biology I Laboratory Manual 
  • This set of Biology I lab assignments ensures students have the opportunity to apply the concepts and information they learn as they work through Biology I course content. Content includes lab assignments for students, as well as Instructor Materials Preparation for each lab with detailed lists of what faculty members need for each lab.
• Introduction to Molecular & Cellular Biology

  This open course is intended for the student interested in understanding and appreciating common biological topics in the study of the smallest units within biology: molecules and cells.

Microbiology

• OpenStax Microbiology 
  • Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health.
• General Microbiology, 1st Edition 
  • Welcome to the wonderful world of microbiology! In this textbook the focus will be on the bacteria and archaea (traditionally known as the “prokaryotes,”) and the viruses and other acellular agents.
• Microbiology 
  • This Microbiology textbook, adapted from the Boundless version, is intended to provide health care professionals with a working knowledge of infectious disease. Much of the book is devoted to the structure/function relationships in pathogenic microorganisms and how these relationships are expressed in host-parasite interactions. Also has accompanying lab manual.
• Introduction to Microscopy Lab

  This is the online version of the BIOL 1620 – College Biology Laboratory II lab manual. Each lab page includes background reading and laboratory procedures (also available as a printable pdf).

Other Topics in Biology

• Environmental Biology 
  • This college-level open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues from a biological perspective.

TEXTBOOKS

• The Essence of Mathematics Through Elementary Problems by Tony Gardiner

  ISBN: 9781783747016

  Publication Date: 2019

  It is increasingly clear that the shapes of reality – whether of the natural world, or of the built environment – are in some profound sense mathematical. Therefore it would benefit students and educated adults to understand what makes mathematics itself ‘tick’, and to appreciate why its shapes, patterns and formulae provide us with precisely the language we need to make sense of the world around us. The second part of this challenge may require some specialist experience, but the authors of this book concentrate on the first part, and explore the extent to which elementary mathematics allows us all to understand something of the nature of mathematics from the inside.

• Quantitative Problem Solving in Natural Resources by Peter L. Moore

  Publication Date: 2018

  This text is intended to support courses that bridge the divide between mathematics typically encountered in U.S. high school curricula and the practical problems that natural resource students might engage with in their disciplinary coursework and professional internships.

• Teaching Mathematics at Secondary Level by Tony Gardiner

  ISBN: 9781783741397

  Publication Date: 2016

  Teaching Mathematics is nothing less than a mathematical manifesto. Arising in response to a limited National Curriculum, and engaged with secondary schooling for those aged 11 ̶ 14 (Key Stage 3) in particular, this handbook for teachers will help them broaden and enrich their students’ mathematical education. It avoids specifying how to teach, and focuses instead on the central principles and concepts that need to be borne in mind by all teachers and textbook authors—but which are little appreciated in the UK at present.

• American Institute of Mathematics

  A list of open textbooks by course title. All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.

• Bookboon Math and Statistics

  Bookboon offers more than 100 titles on mathematics and statistics.