"This list highlights selected art books and books about artists, including practical methods and specialties, as well as general works on art and art history, plus visitor guides to art expos, galleries, and museums".
"OER Commons provides a curated collection of Art History, Graphic Arts, Performing Arts, and Visual Arts".
"MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community".
1,017,886 records with images
678,676 records with images
over 530,000 records with images
447,997 records with images
over 95,000 records with images
Located on the Pacific Rim, LACMA is the largest art museum in the western United States, with a collection of more than 142,000 objects that illuminate 6,000 years of artistic expression across the globe.
More than 53,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels on the long dimension are available free of charge for download and use.
Rijksmuseum, museum of the Netherlands, in Amsterdam. Dutch art and history from the Middle Ages to the present day.
In addition to academic databases, both public and private sources are making digital content available online.
The Ghent Altarpiece and Further Works by Jan Van Eyck.
Partnering with museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual archives across Europe, Europeana is a huge source of images and other digitized content in Europe.
The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.
Google Arts & Culture features content from over 2000 leading museums and archives who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute to bring the world's treasures online.
Lumen Learning - Boundless Art History
Online open textbook covering prehistoric to 20th-century art across the world.
DPLA is a major cultural heritage site that brings together the digitized resources of institutions all over the United States, including hundreds of thousands of images.
A database of 29,460,574 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. These are not necessarily art images, but it can be a good source for buildings, outdoor monuments, and architecture.
