A collaborative effort from the University of California at Santa Barbara, these archives contain 104,106 documents related to the study of the Presidency. Includes voter turnout, financing elections, election documents, speeches, briefings, statements, and much more.
A repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world.
This is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site is maintained by the Library of Congress and provides free online access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information. Coverage varies by type of information; please see the About page for details.
This source provides free online access to official authenticated federal government publications from Congress and other branches of the U.S. government. The site is maintained by the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO). For more information, please see the help page that includes video tutorials and help sheets.
This page provides links to informative guides from the Clerk of the House, the Secretary of the Senate, and the Library of Congress.
Research guide from the Law Librarians’ Society of Washington, DC (revised 2015).
"contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2018 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices."
"Cases and Codes section contains resources and links for both state and federal laws. This includes resources pertaining to constitutions, statutes, cases and more. Run a search for case summaries or select a jurisdiction to browse applicable laws."
A convenient way to search across all federal and state courts.
Codes: Federal & state
"The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis."
"The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office."
Open States aggregates legislative information from all 50 states, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico. This information is then standardized, cleaned, and published to the public.... enables individuals to find out who represents them, look up information on an important bill that’s been in the news, discover how their representatives are voting, or just stay current with what is happening in their capital." API and bulk downloads available.
Includes legislation and news.
International Law
An open portal to EU legislation and law. Find additional information at EU Law
"a network of Member States and designated International Organizations committed to enhancing the legislative processes of individual countries, and to making their laws and legal decisions accessible to their citizens, legislators, government and private sector officials and others who relate to the country through international trade, and to participants in the global community generally."
"The Secretary-General of the United Nations is the depositary of more than 560 multilateral treaties which cover a broad range of subject matters such as human rights, disarmament and protection of the environment."
"a free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility"
