Transnational Muslims in American SocietyShort article by a history professor at USC discussing Southern perceptions of immigration.
"The IHRC promotes interdisciplinary research on international migration, develops archives documenting immigrant and refugee life, especially in the U.S., and makes specialized scholarship accessible to students, teachers, and the public."
Primary sources documenting "voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression"
"This video examines the various reactions to newcomers around the turn of the century and during the world wars. It also urges the viewer to compare present-day responses to those of earlier times." -- Produced by Ohio State University.
Digital collections from the Library of Congress, and a special presentation the African-American quest for citizenship.
Exhibits covering Forced Migration, Plantation America, the Age of Revolutions, Black Southerners in the Old South, and the Problem of Freedom.
African American History: Library of Congress
Seventeen collections from the Library of Congress's American Memory.
A large collection of digital primary sources from the University of Houston. Sections include Asia Discovers America, Asians and the Making of America, World War II and Asian Americans, and The Newest Immigrants.
Library of Congress external links to websites containing information on various groups of Asian Americans. The external websites tab contains links to external organizations such as historical societies and archives. The freely accessible materials tab provides links to digital materials which are available for viewing. Links are for open access journals, digital archives, and digitized museum collections.
"The Consortium for Latino Immigration Studies at USC promotes and coordinates multi-disciplinary research related to Latinos in South Carolina and the Southeast." The Links to Resources, and Reports & Publications sections are particularly useful.
Benson Latin American Collection (University of Texas at Austin)
A guide to the resources and materials of the Library of Congress' Hispanic Collections.
Online pathfinder for Native American history, courtesy of the University of Washington Libraries.
Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842
"Contains over 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States. ... The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images."
MEARO was established in response to the growing interest and need to incorporate Middle Eastern Americans into the study of American society and culture, past and present. The project is grounded on the rich and significant body of scholarship and literature produced over a course of more than a century.
The Arab American Historical Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to promote research, preservation and dissemination of Arab American history and culture, enhancing and building better understanding of Americans of Arab descent.
Jewish American
The oldest ethnic society, founded in 1892.
A Library of Congress exhibition.
European American
GAHF cultivates a greater awareness for German-American heritage and history through outreach efforts that deepen cultural understanding.
San Francisco, CA
Information on famous Italian Americans, Italian holidays and festivals, and demography.
Founded in 1942. Publishes a newsletter and Polish American Studies.
From Library of Congress
