"Everything that we think of as world history would not have taken place without the compass." TED science curator David Biello explains how the device changed our relationship to the world.
"The Latin American Materials Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930."
Drawn from various collections within the library, materials include collections of maps, manuscripts, printed books and newspapers, relating to the British West Indies. Materials showcase life in the English-speaking Caribbean from the 18th to early 19th centuries.
Curated links to visual and audio material, highlighting primary source material for educators and students. Sources contain political and legal documents, narrative accounts, personal memoirs, songs, newspaper reports, as well as cultural, philosophical, religious and scientific documents.
"The digital collection portrays the landscape, people, and technology of various countries, including Costa Rica, Peru , Bolivia, El Salvador, and Cuba in the late 19th century, and includes a set of photos of St. Pierre, Martinique, before and after the eruption of Mt. Pelee in 1902. The DeGolyer Library also holds significant collections relating to Mexico[.]"
Designed as a syllabus to accompany study from the text Modern Latin America, Eighth Edition (Oxford, 2013), this site nonetheless has a wealth of resources, readings, video and other presentations that provide an excellent introduction and overview of Latin American History with or without the textbook.
Manuscripts from Aztec, Mayan, Mixtec, and Colonial sources, as well as from the Borgia Group from the collections at UC Irvine Libraries.
Supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities this digital project showcases galleries of places, documents, iconography, paintings, and other significant historical and archeological items. Includes a bibliography and links to further sources.
Project of the Library of Congress, this site includes special presentations of several geographic areas in Latin America, a chronology of the war, personal narratives, maps, manuscripts, illustrations, and literary responses. Also includes an index, bibliography, and a link to additional library resources.
A curated collection of cultural heritage materials on African counties and communities. Includes photographs, videos, archival documents, interviews, oral histories and maps; many in native African languages. Teaching resources are available.
Extensive list of sources relating to African history and culture, curated by librarians at Columbia University.
Part of a larger series of sourcebooks hosted by Fordham University, this page links to a broad array of primary sources in African history.
A collection of primary source material regarding Africana and Black History made available by the New York Public Library.
A project affiliated with University of Colorado-Boulder, University of Virginia and UNESCO it includes nearly 1,300 images selected from various sources, most dating from the period of slavery.
A database revealing nearly 36,000 slave ship voyages, transporting anywhere from 10 million to 12.5 million Africans to the Americas between the 16th and 19th centuries. Also sponsored by Harvard University, and the National Endowment for the Arts.
A digital collection of resources for the study of the Middle East. Covers the history, culture, development, and contemporary issues. Houses approximately 350,000 pages of indexed and searchable full text in Arabic and Western scripts.
A exhaustive collection of documents on the Middle East ranging from 1916-2003, arranged chronologically, with search features by period and keyword.
Includes collections of public domain historical texts and other documents for educational use and are organized around several main categories such as The Western Intrusion, Islamic Nationalism, and The Islamic World since 1945.
Contains a growing variety of texts addressing elite legal, governmental, religious and economic concerns. Sections have recently been added addressing women’s and gender history, Islamic and Byzantine history, Jewish history, and social history.
The digital companion page to Harvard's libraries and museums, showcasing collections of Islamic manuscripts, published texts, and maps.
Cambridge University Press subpage highlighting publications in Middle East History. Includes many free chapters and articles, but many titles will require Interlibrary loan (ILL) requests. However, this remains an exhaustive list of publications in the subject.
"An Educational Initiative of the Middle East Policy Council," which provides free, high-quality information and resources to teach about the Middle East in social studies and introductory area studies classes. Though geared towards educators, this site has many resources valuable to students and many presentations are designed for students.
A small number of documents, dating from 1670-1931.
Includes texts and links to other sources for Russian history.
Collection of texts, images, maps and audio and video materials from the Soviet era (1917-1991). The materials are arranged by year and by subject, are fully searchable, and are translated into English. Topics include Soviet propaganda, politics, economics, society, crime, literature, art, dissidents and more.
Collection of digitized artifacts from the Hoover Institution, including more than 3000 Soviet political posters.
This site includes an online encyclopedia which is divided chronologically and thematically. There is also a library of full text works and a useful section for students beginning medieval studies entitled "What Every Medievalist Should Know." The site includes resources for teachers and additional links to other useful sites.
This site contains over 400 separate historical articles and approximately 4000 events that can be searched by region or theme. Useful for brief overviews.
Created by George Mason University and the City University of New York, this site includes more than 600 primary documents also with 12 essays, 250 images, 350 text documents, 13 songs, 13 maps a timeline and a glossary.
A useful reference site with information on Napoleon's personal life, career, and campaigns. The site includes links about European history from 1796 - 1815 along with maps, time lines, songs, and images.
Primary historical documents from Western Europe. Organized by country and by time periods, this is an excellent site.
This searchable archive will contain almost three million letters, and offers "the most complete record of any princely regime in Renaissance and Baroque Europe." There is a special emphasis on costumes and Jewish history during the Renaissance.
From the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University. The Avalon Project's collections include digitized documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy, and Government. Covers Ancient history through the present day.
From an 1869 presentation of 933 volumes to the United States by the Emperor of China, the collections of the Asian Division have grown to represent one of the most comprehensive collections of Asian language materials in the world.
Links to a small collection of online Asian studies journals.
Companion site to the PBS documentary
Information on 15 Asian countries including country profiles, culture and history.
Extensive site from the Library of Congress
An extensive set of collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts, maps, and articles maintained by a history professor at Fordham University.
End of Empire is dedicated to a simple premise: events during the 100 days following the bombing of Hiroshima had a profound impact on politics and society throughout Asia for decades to come. The site, which is presented as a daily newspaper, has four integrated components: a Pan-Asian chronology, expert analyses, photographs and documents, and Special Country Reports that present all events relevant to a country in a single edition.
An open access international peer reviewed scholarly research journal focusing on East Asian historical studies. The online format allows for the addition of sound, film and photomedia to be included with articles. This provides users a broader scope of study, such as music and cinema history. Well organized and easily navigable.
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
History World’s aim is to make world history more easily accessible through interactive narratives and timelines. Click on the "Histories" link to view an alphabetical list of the subjects covered. Each narrative history contains a brief outline and a link to an interactive timeline, complete with additional links.
Medieval, Renaissance, and 17th Century. Primary and secondary sources on a number of subjects.
Maintained at Brigham Young University, links to primary historical documents from Europe
An award-winning portal created for students, history educators, and general history enthusiasts. Here you'll find sites, rated for usefulness and accuracy that will help you study or teach a wide variety of topics and periods in History.
Extensive links in many history subject areas.
A learning tool for observing and interacting with color maps and tables illustrating key events and problems in world history from ancient Greece to the contemporary era. The English version of the site has multiple modules or illustrations covering the history of the US and Europe, as well as a few on Latin America and Africa.
Comprehensive list of sites for classical and Mediterranean studies. Primary and secondary sources, maps, and art catalogs.
Links to information on on the ancient Near East such as archeaological digs, electronic journals, and museum exhibits.
Texts and images of papyri from ancient Egypt as well as full-text articles.
From the British Museum. Egyptian life, geography, gods & goddesses, mummification, pharaoh, pyramids, temples, time, trades, and writing.
A lavish multimedia site from the Egyptian Center for Documentation of Cultural and Natural Heritage. Coverage is from ancient times to today.
From Fordham University, full-text primary and secondary sources.
Maintained at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this site offers recent research concerning the ancient world from a variety of different disciplines. There are a number of detailed maps available for downloading.
A useful introduction to Greek and Roman mythology, Roman history and Roman culture. Latin Wordstock provides translations of Latin words into English and derivatives of English words from Latin roots.
Users will find a wide range of useful material on the ancient world from this site. Submissions follow academic standards, yet are formatted for readability and ease of use. Geared towards digital users this encyclopedia site offers articles, photos, audio files, videos and other interactive media.
Written and maintained since 1996 by the Dutch historian Jona Lendering, this not-for-profit website contains over 4,000 pages and nearly 10,000 original illustrations. This project has created a large, easily searchable database on Ancient History.
The Aberdeen Bestiary, a manuscript, written and illuminated in England around 1200, contains notes, sketches and other evidence of the way it was designed and executed. Translation and transcript of original Latin.
The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University.
An extensive set of collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts, maps, and articles maintained by a history professor at Fordham University.
Created and curated by librarian and editor of Medieval Warfare Magazine, Peter Konieczny, and by Sandra Alvarez, the editor of Ancient History magazine (also the creators of the History of the Ancient World website). Provides news, books, and articles, as well as coverage of pop culture, movies and games.
Contains a growing variety of texts addressing elite legal, governmental, religious and economic concerns. Sections have recently been added addressing women’s and gender history, Islamic and Byzantine history, Jewish history, and social history.
A curated list of links to internet resources in Medieval history from around the world. The site includes useful links to databases, services, texts, and images.
This Decameron Web is a project by Brown University students utilizing an interactive design to examine and promote discussion of the Decameron texts; popular stories from people escaping Florence during the Plague.
This site from the National Library of the Netherlands and the Museum Meermanno-Westreenianum provides access to approximately 11,000 manuscript illuminations. They have been made searchable in several languages and are mostly from the late medieval period (15th century). These are only illuminations, not full manuscripts.
Information on Protestant & Catholic reformation, including conflicts and effects on women.
Part of the BELIEVE, Religious Information website, it gives a clearly written explanation of the causes and results of the Reformation.
BBC site that has good information on the Tudors in Britain including Henry VIII and the reformation.
Scholarly articles, governmental records and images documenting various epidemic diseases in western Europe between 1348 and 1530.
Table of contents has entries for literature, history, science, music, religion and philosophy. Links to other sites, on-line journals, museums.
Primary and secondary electronic texts from Hanover College.
Political history, social history, religion, philosophy, literature, and more on Victorian times. Includes links to related sites.
Online exhibit from New York Public Library.
Maintained at Fordham University. Contains full-text primary and secondary sources.
