"Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, our online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries."
We recommend that you explore under the Collections and Discovery tabs. In particular, pay attention to the Online Gallery, Treasures, and Learning collections.
Free, online access to public domain titles, including the Harvard Classics series.
"This is an unparalleled collection of correspondence written and received by the Victorian poets Robert Browning and Elizabeth Barrett Browning. Featuring materials from the collection of the Armstrong Browning Library at Baylor University and the holdings of Wellesley College in Wellesley, Massachusetts, the letters in this collection are browsable and searchable by date, author, and first line of text."
An absolute gem of a resource, "Romantic Circles is a refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. It is published by the University of Maryland and supported, in part, by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH), and the English Departments of Loyola University of Chicago and the University of Maryland." There are so many great "circles" (tabs) to be examined from this cornucopia of resources. Be sure to check out the "Praxis" circle which leads to their "collection of original, critical & theoretical essays on Romanticism" from university professors and scholars.
Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net
Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net (RaVoN) is an International Refereed Electronic Journal devoted to British Nineteenth-Century Literature.
The VRW is dedicated to the scholarly study of nineteenth-century Britain; it includes links to archive catalogues, bibliographies, and listserv archives.
The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.
An anthology of Medieval, Renaissance, Seventeenth Century, and Restoration English literature
Allows you to electronically search within six of Austen's novels.
A Woman's Wit: Jane Austen's Life and Legacy - The Morgan Library & Museum
"an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research."
"This scholarly archive preserves work that mainstream teachers and critics often ignore or undervalue. Notable authors include Joanna Baillie, Felicia Hemans, Mary Robinson, Charlotte Smith, and Jane Taylor."--CHOICE, ALA.
