Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Logan Library

Theater

Resources for Theater Majors

Ted-Ed

Electronic Resources

American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards Searchable archives coverage starts with 1947.

American Variety Stage  A multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini. Groups of theater posters and additional sound recordings will be added to this anthology in the future.

BroadwayWorld.com

Costumer's Manifesto This web site's creator is the costume designer and a Professor of the Theatre Department of the University of Alaska Fairbanks. She regularly teaches classes in costume history, design, construction, theatrical makeup, and theatre history. However, she is best known for her creation of The Costumer's Manifesto, one of the World Wide Web's largest, and most eclectic, costume sites.

Glossary of Technical Theatre Terms Over 800 terms defined, search or browse.

InterPlay An index to the complete texts of plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals in the PSU Library.

Internet Broadway Database IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics. Get a list of every production of Hamlet on Broadway or a list of your favorite actor's credits. Find out what played at a particular theatre or what shows opened in a specified Broadway season.

Library of Congress Presents Music, Theatre and Dance A performing arts digital library. This Web site, formerly known as "I Hear America Singing," invites visitors to experience the diversity of American performing arts through the Library of Congress's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, maps, and other materials. Soon, visitors will be able to take virtual seat in the Library's Coolidge Auditorium, and other performance venues, to hear concerts performed by world-class artists, and premieres of some of the seminal works of the 20th and 21st centuries.

New York Times Theatre Theatre reviews from 1996 to current.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia A guide to the performing arts collections and exhibitions at the Library of Congress

Performing Arts in America 1875-1923 A searchable database of 16,000 objects representing archival materials from one of the strongest periods in the New York Public Library's Performing Arts Library collections.

PlayBill Online

TheatrePedia - The ELAC Internet Theatre Library  Large collection of links to research and career information.

WWW Virtual Library for Theatre and Drama  Links to resources in more than 50 countries around the world for professionals, amateurs, academics and students of all ages.

Professional Organizations

Actors' Equity Association (AEA) -Labor union representing American actors and stage managers in the theater.

American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) - Under Resources/Directories are links to theater organizations, libraries and archives, primary and secondary sources and publishers.

Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE) - Click on "Research" for an excellent list of theater specific journals, links to organizations, conferences and funding opportunities.

Broadway League - National trade association for the commercial theater industry.  Site provides a wide variety of statistics, stage specs guides, and specs for Broadway venues.

Dramatists Guild of America - Professional organization of American playwrights, lyricists and composers.

International Theatre Institute  Sponsored by UNESCO, this site Includes complete lists of productions, a world theater directory, and links to international theater and technical theater organizations.

League of Resident Theaters (LORT) - Professional association of American nonprofit theaters, including links to internship application forms.

Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas (LMDA) - North American network of dramaturgs includes links to relevant blogs and discussion lists, as well as a handbook for student dramaturgs.

Stage Directors and Choreographers Society (SDC) - Professional theatrical union, encompassing a broad spectrum of venues.

Theatre Communications Group (TCG) - Organization dedicated to the promotion of none for profit theater in the United States. 

Theatre Library Association (TLA) - Valuable for lists of performing arts libraries, archives and museums, as well as for links to theater resources.

United Scenic Artists - A labor union and professional association of designers, arts and craftspeople.

United States Institute of Technology (USITT) - Wonderful networking site.