World Literature Research Guide
Biographical Resources -- Use these resources for finding general and background information on a particular author.
- Cyclopedia of World Authors REF PN 451 C93 1989
- European Writers REF PN 501 E9 1983
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (look for volume with cumulative index) REF PS21 D5
- Larousses Dictionary of Writers REF PN 451 L37 1994
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Biography REF CT 103 M27
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- Contemporary Authors, Literary Criticism (Gale)
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences III
- Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
- Literature Resource Center (Gale)
- MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO)
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
- ProjectMuse Humanities Collection
- Twentieth Century American Poetry (ProQuest)
- Twentieth Century English Poetry (ProQuest)
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - General and background information on a topic.
- Encyclopedia of Religion REF BL 31 E46 1986
- Dictionary of Comparative Religion REF BL 410 D5
- Woman's Encyclopedia of Myths and Secrets REF BL 458 W34 1983
- Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion REF BL 1005 L4813 1988
- Elaide Guide to World Religions REF BL 80.2 E415 1991
- World Mythology and Legend REF 303 M45 1988
- Larousse World Mythology REF BL 311 L3
- Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols REF GR 36 J6
- Oxford English Dictionary REF PE 1625 087 1989
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters REF PN 44 M3 1963
- Cassell's Encyclopedia of World Literature REF PN 41 C3 1973 (3 vols.) Brief author entries with works listed.
- Writers from the South Pacific Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations: Asia and Oceania REF G63.W67 1995
English Literature on the Web Extensive list of links to literary resources.
European Literature Electronic Texts This page lists Internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English. Translations are mentioned only when they are included in collections of original language texts, or when they are themselves of interest. Collections are listed more or less in order of size; individual authors are listed alphabetically. From ACRL.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook The site is divided into three main pages (Selected Sources, Full Texts sources, and Saints' Lives) and has numerous links, many of which contain full text of medieval sources. Supplementary documents include a listing of primary sources ordered by accession; secondary sources, maps, translated texts, and desiderata. Includes a search engine that enables the user to retrieve documents by keywords.
The Labyrinth Resources for Medieval Studies sponsored by Georgetown University.
Medieval Feminist Index The Medieval Feminist Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Project Gutenberg Since 1971, Project Gutenberg has sought to put paper editions in the public domain into electronic format. Volunteers submit books that they have converted into electronic format. So far, nearly 10,000 titles have been put into "plain vanilla ASCII" format, holdings equivalent to a modest piece of a small public library. The site is searchable by author, title, language, and subject but not by key word in the body of the text.
Voice of the Shuttle The VOS home page has links to menus for 25 broad subject areas from Anthropology to Women's Studies. Most of the links are to academic or scholarly sites with an emphasis on interdisciplinary humanities studies.
Literary Criticism -- Literary criticism analyzes, compares and contrasts, interprets, or evaluates works of literature. The print and electronic resources listed below contain biographical information on authors and critical essays regarding their literary works. Most of these indexes list scholarly journals and books on a specific work. Choose the reference work which is most related to your author and the literary time period.
The best sources to use are the ones with "criticism" in their title. These multi-volume works have an index in the last volume which indexes all of the volumes by the title or by the author.
The excerpts in the "criticism" resources are actual reprints from scholarly journals and books. Each article or book excerpt/reprint can be used as a quote or source in your research paper. Logan Library may not have the journal or the book, but the most important part of the literary criticism is reprinted in these books.
- Critical Survey of Short Fiction REF PN 3321 C7
- Gale's Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 REF PN 86 L56
- Gale's Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism REF PN 761 .N56
- Gale's Contemporary Literary Criticism REF PN 771 .C59
- Gale's Twentieth Century Literary Criticism REF PN 771.G27
- Gale's Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism REF PN 681.5 C57
- Short Story Criticism REF PN 3373 S 386
- Survey of Long Fiction REF PN 81 C7 1983
- Magill's Masterpieces of World Literature REF PN 44 M3 1952
Includes type of work (drama, poetry, biography, novel, history, speech, treatise, etc.), characters, a critique or short critical analysis of the book and a plot summary. (Poetry of Basho)
- Masterplots Digests of World Literature REF PN 44 M33 1976
Includes type of work, characters, a critique or short critical analysis of the book and a plot summary. (Poetry of Basho)