SU home

logan banner logan home site map Logan Library

 

 

Logan Home > Guides > Statistics

Statistics Research Guide

Databases

Electronic Resources


Bill Trochim's Center for Social Research Methods
  A website for people involved in applied social research and evaluation. Comprehensive course resource centers, previously published and unpublished papers, detailed examples of current research projects, useful tools for researchers (like a guide to selecting a statistical analysis), an extensive online textbook, a bulletin board for discussions, and more.

Bureau of Census  Features a variety of methods to retrieve Census data. News releases and reference publications are also available.

Bureau of Economic Analysis  Department of Commerce agency has summary data and articles based on the data. Most of the materials are taken from BEA publications, including the Survey of Current Business. 

Bureau of Justice Statistics  Justice Department's major statistical agency has information about crimes and victims, drugs and crimes and criminal offenders. Some data can be downloaded in spreadsheet format.

Bureau of Labor Statistics   Access to data series such as the Consumer Price Index and Producer Price Index. A publications section has text from the Occupational Outlook Handbook and Occupational Outlook Quarterly.

Bureau of Transportation Statistics  Department of Transportation's major statistical agency has data from programs such as Motor Carrier Statistics, Airline Information and International Travel & Transportation. You can see how often an airline is late by checking the Office of Airline Information's On-Time Statistics database.

Census Bureau The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Census Data for the U.S.: 1790-1860 From 1790-1830, most of the data is population breakdowns by age, sex, and free status (free or slave).  After 1830, additional data is available, such as occupation, education, mortality, and property.  Users select year, state, and variables, and may request that the data be sorted by variable.

CensusScope Easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan. Census 2000 Data

CIA World Fact Book The CIA's annual factbook about countries of the world includes both maps and data.

County and City Data Books  Electronic versions of the 1988 and 1994 County and City Data Books.

Energy Information Administration  Department of Energy's major statistical agency has data from its research on petroleum, natural gas, coal, nuclear energy and alternative and renewable energy sources.

Federal Statistics  The latest federal government statistics. From The White House web site.

FedStats Statistical data from over 70 federal agencies.

GeoHive: Gobal Statistics Geopolitical data, statistics on the human population, Earth and more

Historical United States Census Browser The data presented here describe the people and the economy of the US for each state and county from 1790 to 1960.

HyperStat Online Statistics TextbookCreated and maintained by Professor David M. Lane of Rice University, the HyperStat Online site contains an online introductory statistics textbook, complete with sections on normal distributions, confidence intervals, prediction, and the logic of hypothesis testing.

Information Please Reference site that offers millions of up-to-the-minute facts and statistics covering just about everything.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)  Provides access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data. It is located within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.

National Agricultural Statistics Service The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.

National Center for Education Statistics NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations.

National Center for Health Statistics  Department of Health and Human Services' major statistical agency has data on infant and child health, diseases and births and deaths

NationMaster.com

OFFSTATS

Population Reference Bureau Informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations

Social Science Data on the Internet Search or browse listings of 851 Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.

Social Sciences Briefing Room Statistics and charts on crime, demographics, education, and health in the U.S.

State and County Quick Facts Includes recent Census data.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

Statistical Resources on the Web

The Statistics Homepage

United Nations Common Database

University of Virginia Social Science Data Center  Maintains a collection of numeric data distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), and various international government organizations.

USDATA.com   Free data section includes the demographics of people who live in the top 64 U.S. markets, quality data about the people and economy of the United States, and more.

WINKS Program Tutorials Tutorials for statistical analysis that include explanations of terms and techniques.