SU home

logan banner logan home site map Logan Library

 

 

Logan Home > Guides > Sports/Exercise Management

Sports/Exercise Research Guide

INDEX

Exercise Science

Sports Management

 

 

Exercise Science

Databases

Electronic Resources


AAHPERD   The American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD) is the largest organization of professionals supporting and assisting those involved in physical education, leisure, fitness, dance, health promotion, and education and all specialties related to achieving a healthy lifestyle. Journals published by AAPHERD

Baseball-Reference.com Find statistics from 1871 to the present for major league players, teams, and leagues. Complete post-season and managerial data is

BioMed Central

BioMed Central Journals

Career Information

CNN Sports Illustrated A combination of CNN, the world's largest and most trusted news organization, and Sports Illustrated, publishing's premier sports magazine. Uses the resources of Sports Illustrated reporters, editors and analysts who cover sports around the world. Provides scores, stats, highlights, interviews, analysis and commentary by journalists.

ESPN.com Includes links to NFL, NBA, NASCAR, NHA, and WNBA web sites.

HealthWeb: Sports Medicine Includes a Subject Library ranging from Anatomy/Physiology to Sport Conditioning. Provides links to journals in the field.

HickokSports.com   Provides histories of North American sports, with lists of champions, records, award winners, and Olympic gold medalists, biographies of North American sports figures, glossaries of words and phrases, organized by sport, a sports calendar containing events, birth dates and death dates, quotes from sports figures and other folks talking about sports, and more. A work in progress.

Highwire Press  

Human Kinetics: Journals Includes table of contents and abstracts.

International Olympic Committee  Links to a variety of information in a variety of languages.

Journal of Sport History

Kinesiology Forum UIUC's collection of internet resources related to kinesiology, human movement, and health. Includes links to other departments, research and information centers, scientific organizations, journals, newsgroups, and discussion lists.

MedBioWorld

Medline Plus: Sports Injuries

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy  Free online version of the 17th edition. Section 5 includes a chapter on Common Sports Injuries

National Center for Health Statistics  NCHS data systems include data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care.

The Physician and Sportsmedicine Online

PUBMed

SciNet Science Search Engine

Scirus

Sports and Fitness Links

StudyWeb.com Includes useful links under the category of Sports & Entertainment one of which is Sports History.

TAHPERD Texas Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance

Texas Education Agency This site contains information about educational programs, curriculum, accreditation, school finance, school laws and rules for the state of Texas. Includes Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills for Physical Education and Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills for Health Education

Women's Sports Foundation Dedicated to increasing the participation of girls and women in sports and fitness and creating an educated public that supports gender equity in sport. The Library includes information on sport topics, fitness articles & guides, reports on Title IX, sport psychology, teen pregnancy, sexual harassment, and more. 

 

Sports Management


AAHPERD   The American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD) is the largest organization of professionals supporting and assisting those involved in physical education, leisure, fitness, dance, health promotion, and education and all specialties related to achieving a healthy lifestyle. Journals published by AAPHERD

Career Information

CNN Sports Illustrated A combination of CNN, the world's largest and most trusted news organization, and Sports Illustrated, publishing's premier sports magazine. Uses the resources of Sports Illustrated reporters, editors and analysts who cover sports around the world. Provides scores, stats, highlights, interviews, analysis and commentary by journalists.

ESPN.com Includes links to NFL, NBA, NASCAR, NHA, and WNBA web sites.

HickokSports.com   Provides histories of North American sports, with lists of champions, records, award winners, and Olympic gold medalists, biographies of North American sports figures, glossaries of words and phrases, organized by sport, a sports calendar containing events, birth dates and death dates, quotes from sports figures and other folks talking about sports, and more. A work in progress.

International Olympic Committee  Links to a variety of information in a variety of languages.

Journal of Sport History

SciNet Science Search Engine

Scirus

StudyWeb.com Includes useful links under the category of Sports & Entertainment one of which is Sports History.

TAHPERD Texas Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance

Texas Education Agency This site contains information about educational programs, curriculum, accreditation, school finance, school laws and rules for the state of Texas. Includes Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills for Physical Education and Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills for Health Education

Women's Sports Foundation Dedicated to increasing the participation of girls and women in sports and fitness and creating an educated public that supports gender equity in sport. The Library includes information on sport topics, fitness articles & guides, reports on Title IX, sport psychology, teen pregnancy, sexual harassment, and more.