Logan Home > Guides > Sociology
Sociology Research Guide
Databases
- Annual Review of Psychology
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)

- Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)

- Research Starters - Sociology (EBSCO)

- ScienceDirect

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - General and background information on a topic.
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Psychology REF BF 31 E52 1986
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM IV) REF RC 455.2 .C4 D54 1994
- Dictionary of Physiological and Clinical Psychology REF RC 467 D48 1986
- Encyclopedia of Psychology REF BF 31 E52 2000
- Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology and Psychoanalysis REF RC 437 .E49 1996
- Encyclopedia of American Social History REF HN 57 .E58 1992
Electronic Resources
Bill
Trochim's Center for Social Research Methods
A web site for people involved in applied social research
and evaluation. Comprehensive course resource centers, previously
published and unpublished papers, detailed examples of current
research projects, useful tools for researchers (like a guide
to selecting a statistical analysis), an extensive online
textbook, a bulletin board for discussions, and more.
Criminal Justice Links From Florida State University's Criminal Justice Department.
Electronic Journal of Sociology EJS presents research papers on topical or critical issues of today that are both scholarly and accessible.
Institute on Research for Poverty A national, university-based center for research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States. It is nonprofit and nonpartisan.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service NCJRS is a federally sponsored information clearinghouse for people around the country and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice and drug control.
A Sociological Tour through Cyberspace From Trinity University's Department of Sociology & Anthropology. Contains useful resources for both undergraduate and graduate students.
Sociology Internet Resources Select by topic: Culture & Society, Ethnicity, Women, Family, Criminology, Theory, Research, US Census, General or browse the full list.
SocioSite A toolkit for social scientists. It contains high quality resources and texts that can be used as wheels for the sociological mind.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online Includes tables displaying statistical data from over 2,500 public and private agencies, academic institutions, research organizations, public opinion polling firms, and other groups. Includes automatic searching capabilities.
Urban Legends Search the Urban Legends archive.