Logan Library - Home

Library HomeDirectorySpecial CollectionsLibrary HoursHow Do I...?

About ScienceDirect

Logan Library subscribes to approximately 200 of the thousands of publications indexed in ScienceDirect. Limiting your searches to "subscribed journals" can save you time and effort.

To retrieve only full text articles (in subscribed journals), do not use the Quick Search box at the top of the ScienceDirect screen. Instead, enter your search terms into the search boxes in the middle of the screen and change the limiter to Source: Subscribed Journals.

The Full-text available Full-text available and Non-subscribed Non-subscribed icons indicate whether or not you can view the full-text of a document in ScienceDirect. These icons display to the left of document citations, journal and book titles, and journal and book volumes/issues. (screenshot)

Note   Many journals on ScienceDirect offer the first issue of a year as a free sample. The Full-text available icon also represents these sample volume/issues.

If you attempt to access the full text of an article in an unsubscribed journal, and you have not created a free account on ScienceDirect, you will be prompted for a login. This login is to the free account you must create for yourself in ScienceDirect.

This account and login will problably not get you the article you want because we probably do not subscribe to that journal, but the messages are a bit more helpful once you have an account. Users who have logged in to their accounts will see the sort of message shown below.

Note: Copies of inaccessible articles can be obtained through Logan Library's Interlibrary Loan service. If you are new to this service, ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.

ScienceDirect

2100 Memorial Blvd., Kerrville, Texas 78028 __ phone: 830.792.7312 or fax: 830.792.7448

http://library.schreiner.edu
Revised: 12/20/2007