SU home

logan banner logan home site map Logan Library

 

 

Logan Home > Guides > Science

Science Research Guide

Electronic Resource Index

Biology

Chemistry

Environmental Science

Physics

Databases

Biology



Bio Netbook
Directory of web pages for biology. From the Pasteur Institute.

Biological Journals and Abbreviations

Biology Literature Searching

BioMed Central BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

BioMed Central Journals

Entomology Index of Internet Resources The directory and search engine of insect-related resources on the Internet. Entries in the Index can be viewed in the following ways:

EurekAlert! News releases of research in science, medicine, and technology from universities and other research organizations.

Finding Primary Sources in Biological Sciences Includes a glossary, journal selection tips and where to find primary research articles.

Free Medical Journals.com The Free Medical Journals Site is dedicated to the promotion of free access to medical journals over the Internet.

GeneMap'99 A new gene map of the human genome.

Gray's Anatomy The Bartleby.com edition of Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings-many in color-from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries.

Highwire Press

The Literature of Biology

MedBioWorld

Nature Genome Information Centre A comprehensive web resource devoted to genomics. Access to all material is free.

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences PNAS is one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Since its establishment in 1914, it continues to publish cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences.

PUBMed

Research and Documentation Online Includes sections on Humanities, Social Sciences, History, and the Sciences. Plus the Hacker Handbooks

Science in the Headlines From the National Academy of Sciences.

TheScientificWorld  Designed for science professionals, provides leading-edge scientific business and world news and alerts members to future scientific and business events of specific interest.

SciNet Science Search Engine

Scirus

Woods Hole Marine Biological Marine Biological Laboratory The Marine Biological Laboratory is an international center for research, education, and training in biology, biomedicine, and ecology.

Writing Lab Reports and Scientific Papers Includes information on the seven sections of a scientific paper.

 

Chemistryback to top


American Chemical Society Journals 27 ACS web edition titles. Retrieve abstracts, full text articles, and PDF documents. Includes a link to Search Help

BioMed Central Journals

ChemCenter: The American Chemical Society Online Provides resources for educators, students, and individuals who want reliable, accurate information about the chemistry-related sciences and the American Chemical Society (ACS) - the world's largest scientific society.

ChemConnect Journal Directory

The Chemical Industry Home Page A useful tool for chemical industry professionals.

Chemistry & Industry The magazine for science and business.

Chmoogle Chmoogle is a chemistry search engine (also called "cheminformatics") that knows about chemical structures and chemical names. You can enter a SMILES ("Oc1cc(Br)ccc1"), a common chemical name ("benzene"), trade names ("Tylenol"), an IUPAC name, or a CAS number. For chemical names, the wildcard '*' may find more results. Chmoogle allows users to send queries, results and individual structures as links to their colleagues via email. This feature creates an unparalleled collaborative environment for chemists worldwide.

EurekAlert! News releases of research in science, medicine, and technology from universities and other research organizations.

General Chemistry Online Created by a chemistry professor, this site contains companion notes and guides that will help students as they navigate the world of first semester chemistry, as well as a toolbox of interactive graphing devices and a glossary of over 1000 chemical terms, complete with audio pronunciations. For those who cannot find answers to their queries here, the site has the "Ask Antoine" section, where they can ask about anything chemistry they so desire. Visitors can also peruse a list of 400 questions that have already been answered since the site's inception. And last, but not least, the site also has an exam survival guide that will be of great comfort to students who find themselves anxious about such affairs.

Highwire Press

MedBioWorld

Organic Chemistry Help!

PUBMed

Science in the Headlines From the National Academy of Sciences.

TheScientificWorld  Designed for science professionals, provides leading-edge scientific business and world news and alerts members to future scientific and business events of specific interest.

SciNet Science Search Engine

Scirus

WebElements Periodic Table 

 

Environmental Scienceback to top


BioMed Central Journals

EPA.gov . . . to protect human health and the environment

EurekAlert! News releases of research in science, medicine, and technology from universities and other research organizations.

GrayLIT Network - Scientific Reports

Highwire Press  

ISIHighlyCited.com  View a researcher's publication records and achievements; keep up-to-date on research authorities in a number of fields; link directly to the ISI Web of Science and access the full bibliographic information. Discover relationships between different aspects of a researcher's work (i.e. published articles, technical protocols and Web databases); Locate potential collaborators, experts or colleagues.

MedBioWorld

PUBMed

NASA  Provides a variety of information on aeronautics and space research including Science@NASA. NASA's SpaceLink On-line Multimedia includes image archives, movie clips, interactive imagery, and NASA TV via the Internet.

National Academy of Sciences A private, non-profit, self-perpetuating society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare. Provides access to articles published in PNAS (Proceedings of the National Academiy of Sciences ).

National Archeological Database Maps  These GIS maps show national distributions of cultural and environmental resources across the United States. 

National Wildlife Federation

Nature Science Update An authoritative and accessible online round-up of what's new in science research, updated daily at midnight GMT by the Nature News Service.

NCDC: National Climatic Data Center The Center has a statutory mission to describe the climate of the United States and NCDC acts as the Nation's Scorekeeper regarding the trends and anomalies of weather and climate.

Public Library of Science

Science in the Headlines From the National Academy of Sciences.

TheScientificWorld  Designed for science professionals, provides leading-edge scientific business and world news and alerts members to future scientific and business events of specific interest.

SciNet Science Search Engine

Scirus

Space Weather Bureau Science news and information about the Sun-Earth environment.

 

Physicsback to top



American Institute of Physics Founded in 1931, this site provides links to its ten member societies as well as free access to journal tables of contents and abstracts. Browse journals in the AIP's online journal publishing service.

Center for History of Physics Preserves and makes known the history of modern physics and allied fields. The Niels Bohr Library's resources consist of books, journals, archives and manuscripts, photographs, interview tapes and transcripts, and other materials documenting the history of nineteenth and twentieth century physics and allied fields (such as astronomy, geophysics, and optics) in America and throughout the world.

College physics for students of biology and chemistry This is a hypertextbook written for first-year undergraduate physics students. It assumes that you have a working knowledge of algebra, that you are currently taking or have taken a college level course in Biology and one in Chemistry, and that you are interested in biology, chemistry or one of the health-related fields.

The Exploratorium  The museum of science, art, and human perception.

EXPLO.TV - Webcasts, Video Clips, and Podcasts from the Exploratorium To view a Webcast, you need to have the required media player (Real, Quicktime, or Windows Media) installed on your computer. The required media player is listed next to the Webcast date on both the upcoming Webcasts and archive pages.

GreenHouse Gas Online Provides a freely available and up-to-date resource dedicated to greenhouse gas news and scientific publications.

Help for Physics Students A quick guide to the parts of DC physics most useful to students. By Doug Craigen (aka "DC") - a former Acadia University physics professor.

Institute of Physics Based in Britain, this publisher of 34 journal in physics and related areas makes the table of contents of these journals available to the public.

Learn Physics Today  An online physics tutorial developed by faculty at Colegio Franklin D. Roosevelt in Lima Peru. Requires JAVA.

The Net Advance of Physics  Review articles and tutorials in an encyclopædic format.

Physics 2000 An interactive journey through modern physics! Have fun learning visually and conceptually about 20th Century science and high-tech devices.

Physics: an Annotated List of Key Resources on the Internet  The sites identified here will get you started in locating the most useful physics sites on the Internet.

Physics Applets University of Oregon's collection of JAVA applets for use in physics, astronomy, or environmental sciences courses.

The Physics Encyclopedia By Igor Ivanov, a student of Novosibirsk University, Russia, a collaborator at Forschungszentrum Juelich, Germany, and a teacher at Physics and Math School in Novosibirsk.

Physics Internet Resources A list of annotated links from the American Physical Society.

The Physics Resource  Created by Doug Craigen (aka "DC") - a former Acadia University physics professor. Help for physics students includes online physics tutorials

Physics To Go A collection of more than 500 websites that you can search or browse to explore physics on your own. It's also a biweekly online magazine, with archives containing more than 55 selected physics images.

PhysicsWeb Global news and information service for physicists. The WebLinks section includes links to educational resources, company information, and reference resources such as the Laws of Physics and the Periodic Table of Elements. Also includes links to journals, magazines, conferences, institutions & organizations, computing resources, and more.

Scitopia

Web physics

WWW Virtual Library: Physics Links to several sections of the Virtual Library related to physics.

Zona Land Classical high school physics through demonstrations, interactive applets and animations, EZ Graph data grapher.

back to top Back to top