SU home

logan banner logan home site map Logan Library

 

 

Logan Home > Guides > Psychology

Psychology Research Guide

Databases

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias   - General and background information on a topic.

Electronic Resources


Library Research in Psychology: Finding It Easily
An APA pamphlet created to help students and non-psychologists find relevant research on psychological topics of interest. It is intended to provide a head start in finding where psychological research is published, how it is indexed, and where to go in the library to find different resources.

Academic Psychology Resources  Resources for students and researchers in psychology.

American Psychological Association  Information about the APA. Lists resources for educators, scientists and practitioners, parents and teens, and students. Includes a browseable list of APA journals. Other APA web sites include: PsycPort.com  Psychology in the News.

American Psychological Society  Provides information about the APS, access to APS journals online, and an extensive page of psychology links which includes: Psychology Department Home Pages, Psychological Societies and related Organizations, Government Agencies, and other sites of interest.

APA FullTEXT Articles

Bill Trochim's Center for Social Research Methods  A website for people involved in applied social research and evaluation. Comprehensive course resource centers, previously published and unpublished papers, detailed examples of current research projects, useful tools for researchers (like a guide to selecting a statistical analysis), an extensive online textbook, a bulletin board for discussions, and more.

BioMed Central Journals

Child Development Psychology  About.com's index to resources in child psychology.

Classics in the History of Psychology An effort to make the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web. There are now over 20 books and over 100 articles and chapters on-line. The site also contains links to over 170 relevant works posted at other sites. For researchers, teachers, and students of the history of psychology, both for use in their courses on the history of psychology, and for the purposes of primary academic research.

DSM-IV Diagnoses and Codes   A numerical listing of diagnoses and codes. There is also a corresponding alphabetical listing. 

Encyclopedia of Psychology

Highwire Press

Human Subjects Research  An online training program from Cornell University covering research using human subjects.

Internet Psychology Lab A multimedia, interactive system for laboratory instruction in psychology. The IPL project provides lessons, demonstrations, and experiments that are available to students using remote Internet clients.

MedBioWorld

National Institute for Mental Health Contains items of interest to the researcher (news & events, grants, contracts, & committees, and research activities) as well as the lay person (the public information section provides specifics on "mental disorders, diagnosis and treatment").

PsychExperiments  The site consists of a set of interactive experiments, a cumulative data archive, download utilities for both data and experiment source code, downloadable Excel macros for analyzing data from the experiments, and support materials for those who want to use and/or develop experiments at the site. 

Psychology Online  For undergraduate students. Links to worldwide resources, labs and tutorials to help students master psychology, the science of mind and human behavior.  

Psychology with Style: A Hypertext Writing Guide This hypertext guide is an attempt to make the style of writing used in the field of psychology clear to you. It summarizes a lot of the material available in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (5th edition) (2001) and is oriented toward undergraduate students.

PsycINFO Search Tips and How-To's This APA tutorial presents a step-by-step process for learning about PsycINFO including content and coverage, subject searching, limiting results, how to find authors, journals and other non-subject fields, and how to print and save records.

PUBMed

Resources for the Teaching of Social Psychology   Part of the Course Resources on the Web (CROW) Project.

SciNet Science Search Engine

Scirus

Social Psychology About.com's index to resources on social psychology.

Social Psychology Network  The largest social psychology database on the Internet with more than 5,000 links to psychology-related resources.

Steps to Effective Searching APA guide includes the 12 steps of electronic searching and information on what you need to know about databases as well as the search systems provided by libraries.

Test Reviews Online - from the Buros Istitute of Mental Measurements

Wadsworth CogLab Online Laboratory  Online lab experiments in perception, neurocognition, memory, imagery, etc. Registration is required for use of experiments.