SU home

logan banner logan home site map Logan Library

 

 

Logan Home > Guides > Political Science

Political Science Research Guide

Databases

Electronic Resources

American Political Development Brings together a wide variety of resources for APD scholars in one easily accessible source. The Electronic Classroom will provide links to resources on the web for those teaching APD at the college level. Resources will include primary source links, syllabi, exam and assignment questions.The APD Town Square will gather information and links relevant to APD scholars including newly published articles and papers from a variety of journals and presses; conference and professional notices; links to relevant journals and journal articles. The APD Town Square will also host electronic discussion Forums on timely topics relevant to the APD field.

Bill of Rights This site contains the first 10 amendments of the Constitution (the Bill of Rights) as well as the Preamble and Amendments 11-27.

CIA World Factbook Details of the demographic, geographic, political, legal and economic makeup of countries and territories worldwide, with maps and references. Appendixes include information on abbreviations, a weights and measures chart, plus information the United Nations System, International Organizations and International Environmental Agreements, and more.

Citizen's Guide to using the Freedom of Information Act of 1974

CNSNews  

CommonDreams NewsCenter

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy To provide American citizens direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society, a core group of current and historical Government publications is being made available for free, permanent, public access via the GPO Access service.

Department of State - International Information Programs  The Office of International Information Programs (IIP) is the principal international strategic communications service for the foreign affairs community. Materials is created for key international audiences, such as the media, government officials, opinion leaders, and the general public in more than 140 countries around the world.\

Elect.Net

Federal Government Resources on the Web

Federal Register Online The Federal Register is available online from 1994 and is the official daily publication for Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents.

Federalist Papers: The Federalist Papers is a series of 85 essays written by Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison and were written and published to urge New Yorkers to ratify the proposed United States Constitution, which was drafted in Philadelphia in the summer of 1787. In lobbying for adoption of the Constitution over the existing Articles of Confederation, the essays explain particular provisions of the Constitution in detail.

Foreign Government Resources on the Web  

Foreign Policy Association  The FPA provides impartial publications, programs and forums to increase public awareness of, and foster popular participation in, matters relating to those policy issues.

Founder's Constitution All of the documents in the Founders' Constitution, with the exceptions of the Editors' "Reader's Advisory," "Introduction," and "Note on References," have been indexed for searching. Also includes the Bill of Rights.

German Propaganda Archive Includes both propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists. The goal of this site is to help people understand the two great totalitarian systems of the 20th Century by giving them access to the primary material.

Governments on the WWW Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc. Includes also political parties.

Political Database of the Americas

Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders The Office of the Federal Register presents this online version of the Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders, April 13, 1945, through January 20, 1989. The paper version of this publication is out of print. The Codification provides in one convenient reference source proclamations and Executive orders with general applicability and continuing effect. It covers April 13, 1945, through January 20, 1989, spanning the administrations of Harry S. Truman through Ronald Reagan.

The Propaganda Analysis Home Page Why you shouldn't believe everything you read. From Washington University.

State of Texas Government Information  This site contains a wealth of information about Texas including: travel information, working in Texas, doing business in and with Texas, Texas Government, Texas Electronic Library, Texas agencies, counties, cities, councils of government, the Texas Constitution.

Texas Constitutions Digitizations Project A complete collection of the seven constitutions that have governed Texas in its days as a Mexican state, as an independent republic, and as a state up to the adoption of the present constitution in 1876. It also includes the Mexican Constitution of 1824, the Texas Declaration of Independence and some proposed constitutions that were never enacted.

Texas House JournalCovers 1999 forward.

Texas Legislature Online  Information updates to this web site occur approximately 5 to 15 minutes after they are entered into the legislature's internal computer system. The internal system is updated by several different departments as soon as or shortly after legislative events occur.

Texas Senate Journal OnlineCovers 1999 forward.

TexasOnline   This secure, one-stop web site - the first phase of Texas' e-government initiative - provides access to Texas government services 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Visitors can renew certain licenses and certifications, apply for permits and much more.

Thomas: US Government on the Internet  A comprehensive federal legislative information site. Full text of all legislation introduced in Congress and the Congressional Record since 1989, summaries of bills since 1973, recent congressional committee reports and legislative schedules. A search engine locates bills and other documents.

Women in Politics  Bibliographic references on books and articles dealing with women in politics.

Yahoo! Politics News, events, election coverage, debates, feature articles, and links to the White House, Supreme Court, Congress, and state and local government.