SU home

logan banner logan home site map Logan Library

 

 

Logan Home > Guides > Poetry

Poetry Research Guide

Databases

Electronic Resources

Academy of American Poets Site with searchable poets, poems, and literary links.

American Poems Biographies and writings.

American Verse Project  Includes full-text works of selected 19th Century American poets.

Atlantic Monthly's Poetry Pages 

Bartleby Verse: American and English Poetry, 1250-1920  Thousands of poems by hundreds of authors. Search across six anthologies and works by 22 authors.

CAPA: Contemporary American Poetry Archive An electronic archive designed to make out-of-print volumes of poetry available to readers, scholars, and researchers. The books are stored as individual text-only files accessible via the World Wide Web on the Internet.

Literary Index  Search by author, title, or do a custom search. The index record shows you the author's birth and death dates (if applicable and known), the pseudonyms the author writes under, and which bibliographic Gale series contain an entry on the author. The author record contains the titles of works by the author that are discussed in Gale's Literary Criticism series.

National Poetry Month

Online Poetry Classroom OPC provides both professional development for high school Language Arts teachers and a virtual teaching community enabling teachers across the country to access free poetry resources online, including innovative, classroom-tested curricula.

Poet's Corner  Free from the Gale Group. Includes biographies, a timeline, links to other poetry sites, quizzes and activities.

Poetry Archives The Poetry Archive strives to be the largest collection of free classical poetry on the internet.  Limited to non-copyrighted poetry.

Poetry Magazine Free access to the full-text digital library of 20th and 21st century English poetry magazines from the Poetry Library collection.

Poetry Society of America  Includes links to poetry journals and magazines.

Representative Poetry Online Includes about 2,900 English poems by over 400 poets from Caedmon, in the Old English period, to the work of living poets today. It is based on Representative Poetry, established by Professor W. J. Alexander of University College, University of Toronto, in 1912.

RhymeZone Search for rhyming words, synonyms, related words, phrases, pictures, and definitions.

vers libre [free verse]  Online archive of classic poetry

Walt Whitman Archive The Walt Whitman Archive is an electronic research and teaching tool that sets out to make Whitman’s vast work, for the first time, easily and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers.

Print Resources

Poetry Criticism REF PN 1010.P499

Magill’s Critical Survey of Poetry (Foreign Language Series) REF PN 1111.C7 1984

Granger’s Index to Poetry REF PN 1022 G7 1986 Use to locate a poem in an anthology or collection of poems. First line, then title of poem, then abbreviation of book in which it can be found. All of these abbreviations are clarified in the beginning of this index.

Granger’s Anthology: The World’s Best Poetry REF PN 6101 W5 -- Anthology of 2,400 poems written prior to 1904.