|
|
|
|
     |
About Periodicals |
|
|
What
are periodicals?  |
Periodicals
are continuous publications such as journals, newspapers, or magazines.
Issues are usually produced regularly (daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly,
semiannually) and each issue contains one or more articles. There
are thousands of periodicals in existence. Consult Magazines for Libraries REF Z6941 .M23 for more information.
Periodicals
may be categorized as : popular magazines, trade/professional journals,
scholarly journals, or newspapers. You may need to include any or all
of these types in your research. This comparison
chart explains the differences in the types of periodicals and
may make your research easier.
One
place to locate more information about periodicals is ingentaconnect.com Search engines such as Google may also be useful in locating a journal's website where back
issues and articles may exist. (Look for a link to "archives" or
past issues.)
|
Where
are the Library's periodicals listed? |
The Library's catalog include a complete holdings information for all of the periodical
titles the Library owns including newspaper, journals and magazines. The
Library's periodicals may be available in print, microfiche or
microfilm, or online in a database.
Even though these titles have a call number in the Library's catalog, periodicals are shelved alphabetically by their titles.
The library also provides a printed list of its periodical holdings which can be found near the current periodical shelves. An online version of this list is also available. These lists are never as up to date as the library catalog.
|
Where can I find journals and magazines in the Library? |
Depending
on factors such as age, format, and subscription status, titles and issues
may be found in different areas
of the Library:
- Current Periodicals and Back Periodicals - arranged alphabetically by title on shelves near the south windows in the main library
- Newspapers - shelved by title with the Current Periodicals. Retention periods vary.
- Microfiche and Microfilm - stored by journal title in the metal cabinets
located near the copiers
- Periodical Storage - very old issues of some titles are kept in the basement. Ask for assistance to see this material.
- In an online subscription database.
|
How
do I find articles?  |
The fastest way to find an article published since the 1980s is to use an article database, even if you just want to see what is contained in the print publications sitting on the library's shelves.
Articles published
in journals, magazines, and newspapers are indexed in both printed indexes and in online databases. Depending on the topic, both printed and online sources may
be needed to do a comprehensive search.
Articles published
in the 1980's and earlier can generally be found only by looking through a
printed index, although many online databases, just as JSTOR or Project Muse are adding this kind of content.
Logan library no longer has printed indexes available. Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.
|
Using
Print Indexes  |
If
you are doing research
on the 1980s or earlier, some libraries still have printed indexes to the
periodical literature that was published before the Computer Age began. Since 2008, Logan library no longer has printed indexes available but Essay
and General Literature Index, Humanities Index and Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature are examples of index titles you may find in other libraries.
- To
begin doing research in an index, choose the subject index appropriate to your topic.
- The title of the index reflects its content. For example, use Reader's Guide to the Periodical Literature for general topics.
- Choose the time period in which you are interested (some indexes hold a year's worth of data, other multiple years)
- Look for your topic alphabetically
in the pages of the index. Try looking for synonyms also.
- When you find citations you want to investigate further, use a copier to copy the page or write down the citation information.
- Check the Library catalog to see if the Library owns the specific
journal issue cited. (Ask for assistance if you have difficulty reading the holdings information for a journal title.
- If the title is found in the catalog, locate the journal issues or ask for assistance.
- If the title is not in the catalog, ask a Librarian how to request the
article through WorldCat's online Interlibrary loan feature or complete a printed request form and drop it off at the Reference Desk.
|
|
|