SU home

logan banner logan home site map Logan Library

 

 

Logan Home > Guides > Music

Music Research Guide

Biographical Resources

Chronologies

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Electronic Resources

Allegroassai.com Catalog of downloadable and editable music scores. Indexed by title, composer, and instrument.

America Singing  This collection contains 4,291 song sheets published from the late 1700s until the 1880s and is housed in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress. Includes songs of national significance as well those providing political, social and economic commentary on American life at the time. Includes a keyword search or can be browsed by title, name or publisher.

Carolina Classical Collection  Index of classical music web site links.

Christian Reformed Church Index - Search for Type: Music Scores

Classical Music Navigator

Classical Net

CNET Music Center Newcomer guide to creating, storing, and finding online music. 

The Cyber Hymnal  This site has over 2,400 Christian hymns and Gospel songs from many denominations. You'll find lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures, history, and more. This worship and teaching resource is provided as a public service. To hear the music, you'll need speakers & a sound card.

Cyberspace Music Resources

Database of Recorded American Music DRAM is a digital library for colleges and universities of recordings of important American and international repertoire. By circulating music and scholarly materials not otherwise accessible to students and researchers, DRAM augments the existing collections of music libraries at relatively low cost. Source materials include CDs, LPs, broadcast tapes and archival recordings. The highest audio and preservation standards are adhered to.

As of 2007, much of the DRAM collection comes from the New World and Composers Recordings catalogue. Other partners include Albany Records, Artifact Recordings, Cedille Records, Cold Blue Music, Deep Listening, Frog Peak Music, innova Recordings, Mutable Music, Pogus Productions, and XI.

Digital Mozart Edition

Electronic Dictionary of Musical Themes By special arrangement with Crown Publishers, The Multimedia Library provides music lovers, music students, and musicologists with a unique new resource — the Dictionary of Musical Themes by Barlow and Morgenstern, now available as Standard MIDI files for computer-based enjoyment, study and analysis.

This collection of 9,825 musical themes (the works of over 150 composers) from the Barlow-Morgenstern original compilation can be played in any browser using Quicktime. You can search by composer, by category of music or by note (solfeggio) in key-independent fashion.

Free Sheet Music Guide

Great Conversations in Music These programs were created and hosted by the late Eugene Istomin (1925-2003), one of the world's most admired classical musicians. This presentation includes additional footage as well as an additional program, "Chamber Music," released here for the first time.

Historic American Sheet Music  This collection presents 3,042 pieces of sheet music drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University, which holds an important, representative, and comprehensive collection of nineteenth and early twentieth century American sheet music.

Historic American Sheet Music Timeline: 1850-1920  Features a selection of representative pieces for each decade between 1850 and 1920. Also included is a chronology of major events in politics & government, international affairs, companies, inventions, exploration, humanities, publications, and sports.

IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library: Free Public Domain Sheet Music

Internet Resources for Music Scholars  The Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Library is Harvard University's principal resource for music books, scores, sound recordings, and videos. It also serves the international community as a research facility for musical scholarship.

Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection  This collection is part of Special Collections at the Milton S. Eisenhower Library of The Johns Hopkins University. It includes over 29,000 pieces of music and focuses on popular American music spanning the period 1780 to 1960. All pieces of the collection are indexed on this site and a search will retrieve a catalog description of the pieces. An image of the cover and each page of music will also be retrieved if the music was published before 1923 and is in the public domain.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia A guide to the performing arts collections and exhibitions at the Library of Congress

Sibelius Academy  Includes links to Music Institutes, Music Schools and Music Departments

Texas Music: Its Roots, It's Evolution 

Women in Texas Music

Music Criticism