Logan Library - Home

Library HomeDirectorySpecial CollectionsLibrary HoursHow Do I...?

About Locations
Logan Library's collection is divided into several sub-collections or "locations" for a variety of reasons: type of material, size, format, audience, circulation status, as well as subject matter. This kind of organization is typical of most academic libraries and requires library users to know more than just the call number to locate an item in the building.

The library's catalog allows users to "limit" searches by location. The "Limits" button is found on the opening screen at the bottom right.

To retrieve an item from the library shelves, users must:

  1. find the desired item's record in the library catalog
  2. note the location of the item, displayed in the catalog above the call number
  3. note the status of the item (available on shelf or checked our until XX/XXX
  4. write down the entire call number, eg. Folios NC1204.5 .R567 1984
  5. use a map of the library to go to the shelf and find the item or ask for assistance at the Reference Desk
  6. Holds may be placed on items that are checked out - Inquire at the Circulation Desk.

Electronic resources are one exception to the above scenario. Logan library currently has over 30,000 such items in its catalog whose location is "ELECTRONIC RESOURCE". These items are cataloged but have no physical presence in the library.

Instead, a link is available (click to view an example) on all views of the catalog record for the item. This link provides Schreiner faculty staff and students access to the online item both on and off-campus.

 

  1. Atlases and Maps -- Stored near the windows to the far right as you approach the Reference Desk.
  2. Audiovisuals -- All items are shelved in a closed area. Ask for assistance from library staff.
  3. Audiovisuals - Grand Hall -- Popular videos and DVDs are kept in locked glass cabinets located on the walls of this room. Ask for assistance.
  4. BestSellers -- Housed on two rotating bookcases near the Reference Desk.
  5. Children's Collection -- Located on the shelves at the right on the Sun Porch.
  6. Course Reserve -- Kept at the Circulation Desk. Check out policies are designated by the course instructor. Ask for assistance. What is currently shelved in Course Reserve?
  7. Curriculum Collection -- Located to the right on the Sun Porch (these items are not in the catalog.)
  8. Dobie Collection -- These materials are kept in a closed area. Ask for assistance.
  9. Folios (Oversize Books) -- Located to the far right as you approach the Reference Desk. Covers two shelves located to the right and left of the corner window.
  10. General Reserve -- Kept at the Circulation Desk for 3 hour in-library use only. Ask for assistance.
  11. Hill Country Collection -- These materials are kept in a closed area. Ask for assistance.
  12. Main Stacks -- The tall book shelves on both sides of the center aisle in the main part of the Library. Now includes legal materials.
  13. Microfiche -- Located in metal cabinets in a small room near the current periodical shelves.
  14. Microfilm -- Located in metal cabinets in a small room near the current periodical shelves.
  15. Newspapers -- Recent issues are kept at the Circulation Desk and a few titles are stored for a short time before recycling.
  16. Periodicals -- Current issues are shelved by title on the wall shelves to the far left of the Reference Desk. Older issues are stored by title in boxes on nearby shelving. Some items are stored in the basement. Ask for assistance for items in storage.
  17. Reference Collection -- Shelving begins in the Grand Hall on the left and wraps around the room continuing into the area to the right of the Reference Desk.
  18. Schreiner Senior Theses -- These materials are kept in a closed area. Ask for assistance.
  19. Software Collection -- Located at the Circulation Desk. Ask for assistance.
  20. Young Adult Collection -- Located to the left on the Sun Porch.

 

2100 Memorial Blvd., Kerrville, Texas 78028 __ phone: 830.792.7312 or fax: 830.792.7448

http://library.schreiner.edu
Revised: 09/23/2008