These
terms are commonly used by library staff who sometimes forget
that library terminology is not common knowledge.
abstract Summary of an article, book, or other written publication.
acquisitions The department of the library which purchases materials.
archives Historical records and documents, or the place where such records
and documents are kept.
bibliographic
citation The information that identifies a book or article.
A citation for a book usually includes the author, title, publisher,
and the date published. A citation for an article usually includes
the author of the article, the title of the article, the title
of the periodical in which the article was published, the volume
number of the periodical, the issue number of the volume, the
page numbers on which the article was printed, and the date the
article was published.
bibliography A list of books, articles, or other sources (interviews, films,
etc.) on a particular subject. Bibliographies are often found
at the end of books or articles, or they may be separate publications.
bound Refers to several issues of a periodical which are joined
together under one cover.
call
number A group of letters and numbers given to an item and
used to arrange materials in the library. The Library of Congress
System (LC call number) is used for most Logan Library materials;
an example: GV 836 .A2C72.
cataloging The department of the library which organizes and maintains materials.
CD-ROM A read-only-memory compact disk, used to store information.
CDs that accompany books are housed at the Circulation Desk.
check
out or charge out The process of borrowing materials
to use outside the library. This is done at the Circulation desk.
A Schreiner ID is required.
Circulation The department of the library which maintains records on
materials currently checked out to patrons.
Circulation
desk Also frequently called Circ; the area of the library
used to check out materials to patrons. Located at the front entrance
of the library.
citation Same as bibliographic citation
claim Notification that a periodical was not received as expected.
community
patron A non-Schreiner affiliated person who lives in the
area and has registered with the library. A person allowed to
check out fewer kinds of materials than students.
course
reserves Materials that instructors set aside for their students
to read for class. These items may be borrowed for a short period
determined by the instructor.
cumulative
index An index in which several previously published indexes
are combined into one physical piece that resembles a book.
current
periodical The most recent issues of a journal or magazine,
often published during the last year, which have not been bound.
database
searching Using a computer to find journal article citations
on a subject or other kinds of information contained in a database.
hold A request that guarantees that when a book is returned to the
circulation desk it will be saved for you.
holdings A group of items included in or owned by a library. Typically
used to refer to the periodical volumes, issues, and years housed
in a library.
index A list of subjects, names, titles, etc. that helps locate information.
A periodical index lists articles by subject or author. A book
index is a list at the end of a book which gives page numbers
where names and subjects can be found in the book.
information
literacy The ability to know when there is a need for information,
to be able to identify, locate, evaluate, and effectively use
that information for the issue or problem at hand.
Interlibrary
Loan (ILL) A way to get materials owned by other libraries.
The Interlibrary loan desk is located in the main part of the
library.
journal A publication which has scholarly information, usually written
by professors, researchers, or experts in a subject area. Not
intended for the general public. See magazine.
keyword
searching Using a few important or unique terms to find journal
article citations that contain those terms.
Library
of Congress Subject Headings The words or phrases necessary
to find information in the library's catalog on a subject.
location A grouping of library materials by a unique characteristic
such as Reference, Periodicals, Folios (oversize), Main Stacks.
This is information is critical to finding an item (in addition
to the call number of on an item.)
magazine A periodical intended for the general public rather than for scholars.
manuscript A handwritten or typed composition, rather than a printed one.
microforms Either microfiche (4 by 6 inch plastic cards) or microfilm (a
roll of plastic film) upon which printed materials have been reduced
in size by photographic methods to save space. Stored in metal
cabinets near the Library's copiers.
monograph A book.
newspaper A periodical containing current information. Kept for a limited
time at the Circulation Desk. Only the Kerrville Daily Times newspaper
is retained permanently on microfilm at the library.
online
database A computerized file of information.
online
searching Using a computer and a database to find periodical
citations to articles on a subject.
OPAC A library catalog. "Online public access catalog"
was once used to differentiate it from the card catalog still
in use.
patron Someone allowed to checkout library materials.
periodical An item which is intended to be published in parts indefinitely,
and more often than just once a year; includes journals, magazines,
and newspapers.
phrase
searching Using a few important or unique terms entered in
the order to find journal article citations that contain those
terms.
reserves Same as course reserves. Other materials may also be kept
on reserve.
search If a book is not on the shelves and it is not checked out, you
may place a request at the circulation desk for one of the library
staff to try and find the book for you.
serial A publication which is intended to continue producing new parts
indefinitely. This includes books such as almanacs and yearbooks
which are published every year or less often, as well as periodicals
such as magazines, journals, and newspapers.
subject
heading The specific word or phrase used to find a book or
article on a specific topic in a database or periodical index.
volume A number of issues of a periodical, may cover any time period
up to one year.
web
searching Using a computer and a search tool such as Google
to find information on the internet.