SU home

logan banner logan home site map Logan Library

 

 

Logan Home > Guides > Humanities

Humanities Research Guide

Electronic Resources

Alex A collection of public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy.

Bartleby.com: Great Books Online  The classics of literature, nonfiction, and reference online and free of charge. Includes an encyclopedia, a dictionary, Roget's Thesaurus, two sources for quotations, and several for English usage. Searches can be done on "all Bartleby.com" or in Reference, Verse, Fiction and Non-Fiction, or by specific title of a work. Tabs above the search box allow browsing of content.

Biography.com's People Finder  Search the Biography.com database for over 25,000 of the greatest lives, past and present. Search Tips included.

Classics Unveiled Covers various aspects of the ancient world, ranging from the massive world of Greek and Roman mythology, Roman history, Roman culture, to the Latin language and its pervasive influence on English.

Electronic Text Center

Encyclopedia Mythica An encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, legends, and more. It contains over 6100 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world.

Exploring Ancient World Cultures "An introductory, on-line, college-level 'textbook' of ancient world cultures, constructed around a series of cultural pages consisting of: The Ancient Near East, Ancient India, Ancient Egypt, Ancient China, Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome, Early Islam, and Medieval Europe." From Evansville University.

Folklore and Mythology  An index to sites focused on folklore, folk art and music, mythology, and legend.

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts

Great Books from Malaspina University College, British Columbia

H-Net; Humanities Online (Emphasis on History) see also: H-Net Reviews (Book Reviews from 1998 to date)

Humanities-Interactive The Humanities-Interactive project consists of an eventual fifty online exhibits produced by the Texas Humanities Resource Center in Austin, Texas. The exhibits are assembled into Collections based on their common themes. These interactive exhibits consist of annotated images, learning resources, essays, educational worksheets, associated games, and multimedia presentations.

The Internet Movie Database New users should take the guided tour of the site. This tour, using frames, gives you a look around the Internet Movie Database, pointing out some of the things we think are pretty fun. The Alphabetical Index lists a plethora of various features and sections for more experienced users who know what they want and just need a little help finding it.

IPL Online Texts Collection  Over 14,000 titles. Includes online books, stories, essays, poems, articles, dramas, letters and speeches that are freely available over the Internet. Can be searched or browsed by author, by title, or by Dewey Decimal Classification.

The Labyrinth Resources for Medieval Studies sponsored by Georgetown University.

MovieFlix.com Free Internet access (registration required) to a large library of films (more than 1,200 titles) ranging from Hollywood classics and independent films to cartoons, shorts (including educational films), and TV shows. Films are grouped into 28 categories. Viewing requires RealPlayer. 

The National Gallery of Art Collection: Virtual tours through selected works in 44 of the National Gallery's collections, including painting, sculpture, decorative arts, and works on paper. Each work may be accompanied by descriptive information, links to full screen images, an exhibition history of the work, and its provenance.

On-Line Books Page  Free access to more than 12,000 English works in various formats.

ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies The ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students. All articles have been judged by at least two peer reviewers. Authors are held to high standards of accuracy, currency, and relevance to the field of medieval studies.

Oxford Text Archive The Oxford Text Archive holds several thousand electronic texts and linguistic corpora, in a variety of languages. Its holdings include electronic editions of works by individual authors, standard reference works such as the Bible and mono-/bilingual dictionaries, and a range of language corpora.

Perseus Digital Library Primary and secondary sources for the study of Ancient Greece and Rome.

Project Gutenberg Project Gutenberg is the Internet's oldest producer of FREE electronic books (eBooks or eTexts).

Resources in Ethnographic Studies

Today in History Library of Congress provide historical facts related to the current date along with links to materials from its extensive online collections.

Voice of the Shuttle The VOS home page has links to menus for 25 broad subject areas from Anthropology to Women's Studies. Most of the links are to academic or scholarly sites with an emphasis on interdisciplinary humanities studies.