Skip to main content

Home: How Do I...?

W.M. Logan Library, Schreiner University, Kerrville, Texas

Using the Library

Phone: 830.792.7312

Email: library@schreiner.edu

Library Staff may also be reached in person at the Reference or Circulation Desks in the library. 

Fall and Spring Semesters

Monday - Thursday 7:30am - Midnight

Friday 7:30am - 4:00pm

Saturday 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Sunday 3:00pm - Midnight

 

Intersessions (Holiday Schedule)

Monday - Thursday 8:00am - 5:00pm

Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday and Sunday: Closed

 

Summer Sessions

Monday - Thursday 8:00am - 5:00pm

Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday and Sunday: Closed

 

Special Hours

The library will be open for an extended time during peak times in the academic calendar, commonly this will be during midterm and final exam weeks. Students will be notified and signs will be posted in advance of any scheduled hour changes.

Security policies

The University prevents networked computer users from installing software on library machines. Additionally, if the network cable is pulled from the outlet, the connection is instantly disabled. Only Schreiner computers may be plugged into campus network connections.

  • Schreiner staff, students and faculty are provided with a login and password to access email and library resources.
  • Community patrons may use the designated computers at the 2(SC) Desk. Passwords are posted on the machine for immediate use.

Locked Accounts/Computers

Three failed attempts to login to a library computer will result in a locked account that will become usable again in 30 minutes. For assistance, ask at the Reference Desk. Library computers also time out when users forget to logoff. These computers can be made usable again by restarting the computer with the power button.

Email Access

Email access is available to students and community patrons via the web only. Access to Schreiner email is available via a link on the Schreiner One home page.

Printing

Printing in black and white or color is available to all users via a login and password system.

  • Library printers are named: Logan_Library_B&W (black and white print jobs) and Logan_Library_Color (color print jobs)
  • A library printer must be selected before printing or the printouts will be sent to the computer lab in Dickey Hall.
  • Schreiner students are provided with printing accounts whose balance is refreshed each semester.
  • Additional funds may be added to student printing accounts at the Reference Desk.
  • Community patrons must use designated computers and pay for printouts at the Circulation Desk.

Wireless Internet Access

The campus wireless network (provided by Apogee) is available to the Schreiner community. The library has a number of laptops available at the Circulation/Reserve Desk for checkout to Schreiner students. Wireless internet is only available to Schreiner Students, Faculty, and Staff.

Available Library Computers and Equipment

The Library has approximately 50 computers with Internet access available for student and community use. View the full list of library computers and technology on the Labs/Library page. 

Sun Porch Computer Testing and Instruction

Twenty-six (26) computers are located at the far end of the main part of the Library in an area referred to as the Sun Porch Electronic Classroom. 

  • An ADA Workstation with scanner and Kurzweil (literacy software) is provided.
  • When not scheduled for instruction, the Sun Porch computers are available for student use.
  • Instructors may call ext. 7319, email library@schreiner.edu or stop by the Reference Desk to reserve this space for testing or instruction.
  • Instructors may also request bibliographic or information literacy instruction sessions with a librarian when reserving this space.

The EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) search box will provide access to all of the library's print and online collections. Or you may search our Databases directly for collections such as Ebooks on EBSCOhost.

Learn more about searching EDS in our online tutorial: 

 

How to Use Logan Library's Online Catalog

  1. Go to Logan Library’s Online Catalog
  2. Browse our holdings for books, journals, and other resources
  3. Use the Call Number to locate items in the library, learn more about call numbers here

From the catalog home page, you may perform:

  • A basic search (one text box only) or
  • An advanced search (up to three text boxes) or
  • A search for Course Reserves (those items your professor puts on reserve at the library for you)

Using Basic Search

This search allows you to use only one text box to fill in information for the search. Use this search if you already know the title or author’s name.

About ‘Basic Search’ Search Results:

  • Author, Call Number, and Subject searches are browses, which means it starts with the term you entered, and you can browse entries found before and after that term
  • Terms entered for the title search must start with the actual beginning of the title
  • Terms entered for the author search prefer the format: Last Name, First Name
  • Keyword and Journal Title searches look for terms anywhere in the title or item record

About Keyword Searching in Basic Search

  • Terms "and" "or" and "not" can now be used between terms for one of the keyword search options
  • Default operator between each term is ‘or’, instead of ‘and’
  • If you want to search for all terms in one record, use the advanced search and enter the terms into different boxes

Using Advanced Search

This search provides multiple boxes in which to type search terms that need to be limited to certain areas, as when you have the author’s last name and a keyword.

About ‘Advanced Search’ Search Results:

  • The drop-down menus for ‘Search in’ include limitations such as ‘keyword’, ‘author’, and ‘title'
  • Results will not be browses
  • Set the limits before entering your search terms or wait until you get your search results and use the 'post limits' button to avoid erasing search terms

Have a question? Contact Special Collections directly by email to archive@schreiner.edu or by phone at 830.792.7337. Schreiner University Special Collections are also available online through our Partner Page in the Portal to Texas History. 

abstract Summary of an article, book, or other written publication. Maybe be included along with the citation information.

acquisitions The department of the library that purchases materials.

archives Historical records and documents, or the place where such records and documents are kept.

bibliographic citation The information that identifies a book or article. A citation for a book usually includes the author, title, publisher, and the date published. A citation for an article usually includes the author of the article, the title of the article, the title of the periodical in which the article was published, the volume number of the periodical, the issue number of the volume, the page numbers on which the article was printed, and the date the article was published.

bibliography A list of books, articles, or other sources (interviews, films, etc.) on a particular subject. Bibliographies are often found at the end of books or articles, or they may be separate publications.

bound Refers to several issues of a periodical which are joined together under one cover.

call number A group of letters and numbers given to an item and used to arrange materials in the library. The Library of Congress System (LC call number) is used for most Logan Library materials; an example: GV 836 .A2C72.

cataloging The department of the library that organizes and maintains its materials and adds the records describing new materials to the library's automated system. These records are searchable in the library catalog.

CD-ROM A read-only-memory compact disk, used to store information. CDs that accompany books owned by Logan Library are housed at the Circulation Desk.

check out or charge out The process of borrowing materials to use outside the library. This is done at the Circulation desk. A Schreiner ID is required. The library's automated system tracks the items checked out to patrons until the items are checked back in on the system. The library does not retain any history of the items borrowed by a patron.

Circulation The department of the library that is responsible for maintaining accurate records on the materials currently checked out to its patrons.

Circulation desk Also frequently called Circ or the main desk by library staff; the area of the library used to check out materials to patrons. Located at the front entrance of the Logan Library.

citation Same as bibliographic citation.

claim Notification that a periodical was not received as expected.

community patron A non-Schreiner affiliated person who lives in one of the 5 counties that comprise the Texas Hill Country and has registered with the library. A person allowed to

course reserves Materials that instructors set aside for their students to read for class. These items may be borrowed for a short period determined by the instructor.

cumulative index An index in which several previously published indexes are combined into one physical piece that resembles a book.

current periodical The most recent issues of a journal or magazine for which the library has a subscription, often published during the last year, which have not been moved into storage.

database searching Using a computer and the internet to find journal article citations on a given subject or other information contained in a database.

hold A request that guarantees that when a book is returned to the circulation desk it will be saved for you. Holds expire in seven days and materials are reshelved.

holdings A group of items included in or owned by a library. Typically used to refer to the volumes, issues, and years of a journal title housed in a library.

index A list of subjects, names, titles, etc. that helps locate information. A periodical index lists articles by subject or author. A book's index is a list at the end of the content which gives the page numbers in the book where names and subjects can be found.

information literacy The ability to know when there is a need for information, to be able to identify, locate, evaluate, and effectively use that information for the issue or problem at hand.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) A way to get materials owned by other libraries. The Interlibrary loan desk is located in the main part of the library.

journal A publication which has scholarly information, usually written by professors, researchers, or experts in a subject area. Not intended for the general public. See magazine.

keyword searching Using a few important or unique terms to find journal article citations that contain those terms.

Library of Congress Subject Headings The words or phrases that may be needed to find information in the library's catalog on a given subject.

location A grouping of library materials by a unique characteristic such as Reference, Periodicals, Folios (oversize), Main Stacks. This is information is critical to finding an item (in addition to the call number of on an item.)

magazine A periodical intended for the general public rather than for scholars.

manuscript A handwritten or typed composition, rather than a printed one.

microforms Either microfiche (4 by 6 inch plastic cards) or microfilm (a roll of plastic film) upon which printed materials have been reduced in size by photographic methods to save space. Stored in metal cabinets near the Library's copiers.

monograph A book.

newspaper A periodical containing up-to-date and current affairs information. Newspapers are kept for a limited time at Logan Library. Only the Kerrville Daily Times newspaper is retained permanently on microfilm.

online database A computerized file of information.

online searching Using a computer and a database to find periodical citations to articles on a subject.

OPAC A library catalog. "Online public access catalog" was once used to differentiate it from the card catalog still in use.

patron Someone allowed to checkout library materials.

periodical An item which is intended to be published in parts indefinitely and more often than just once a year, includes journals, magazines, and newspapers.

phrase searching Using a few important or unique terms entered in a specific order to find journal article citations that contain those terms in the same order.

reserves Same as course reserves. Other materials may also be kept on reserve.

search If a book is not on the shelves and it is not checked out, you may place a search request at the Circulation or Reference Desk. One of the library staff will try and find the book for your use. You will be notified if the book is found or not.

serial A publication which is intended to continue producing new parts indefinitely. This includes books such as almanacs and yearbooks which are published every year or less often, as well as periodicals such as magazines, journals, and newspapers.

subject heading The specific word or phrase used to find a book or article on a specific topic in a database or periodical index.

volume A number of issues of a periodical, may cover any time period up to one year.

web searching Using a computer and a search tool such as Google to find information on the internet.

Checking Out Library Items

  • Schreiner students, staff and faculty may check out items with their Schreiner University ID card.
  • Community patrons may check out books with their state issued ID according to the rules stated in our Borrower Policies. 
  • Patrons must bring all items for checkout to the Circulation Desk at least 15 minutes before closing. 
  • Due dates are marked on the items and all items are to be returned to the library before this date passes to avoid fines.
  • Items returned to the Library during open hours may be checked in immediately at the front desk or deposited in the inside book drop. An outdoor book drop is available near the building entrance for returns when the building is closed.

 

Borrower Policies

Policy
Schreiner Students
Schreiner Employees
Schreiner Faculty
Community
Patrons

Loan Periods
(if no fines or fees owed)

Books - 21 Days
A/V Items - 3 days
(all items are due before closing on last day of exams)

Books - 21 Days
A/V Items - 3 days

Books - 180 Days
A/V Items - 6 weeks

Books - 21 Days
A/V Items - Not Loaned

Maximum Number
of Borrowed Items

Books - Unlimited
A/V Items - 3
Laptops - 1
 

Books - Unlimited
A/V Items - 3

Unlimited Borrowing

Books - 3
A/V Items - Not Loaned

Renewals
(if no fines or fees owed)

Books - 1
A/V Items - None
Laptops - None

Books - 1
A/V Items - None

Unlimited Renewals
(all items subject to recall)

Books - 1
A/V Items - Not Loaned

Overdue Fines
(per item / per day)

Books - $.25
A/V Items - $1.00
Laptops - $50.00

Books - $.25
A/V Items - $1.00

N/A

Books - $.25
A/V Items - Not Loaned

Maximum Fines
(per item)

Books - $7.00
A/V Items - $90.00
Laptops - $150.00

Books - $7.00
A/V Items - $90.00

N/A

Books - $7.00
A/V Items - Not Loaned

Lost Item Fees
(per item / plus any fines)

Books - $60.00
A/V Items - current market price + $15.00 processing fee
Laptops - $900.00

Books - $60.00
A/V Items - current market price + $15.00 processing fee

N/A

Books - $60.00
A/V Items - Not Loaned

** All items are due before closing on the date indicated on the item.
To avoid holds on accounts, students must return all items before closing on the last day of exams.


Borrowers are responsible for their items until the items are checked in at the Circulation Desk.
As a courtesy, the Library sends overdue notices, but takes no responsibility for late or undelivered notices.
Archival materials, periodicals, and most reserve materials are not loaned but may be used in the library building.

Eligibility

  • Schreiner University welcomes residents of the area to use the Logan Library.
  • Area residents may use books, periodicals, and computer resources within the building and ask the reference staff for assistance.
  • To take books out of the building, residents of Kerr and the six contiguous counties (Bandera, Edwards, Gillespie, Kendall, Kimble, and Real) are asked to complete an application form at the Circulation Desk and pick up a copy of the Borrower Policies.

Behavior Policies

  • Anyone who enters the building must exhibit appropriate library behavior.
  • All children must be accompanied by and supervised by an adult.
  • People who exhibit inappropriate behavior and/or disturb Schreiner University staff, students or faculty will be asked to leave the building.

Limitations

The needs of Schreiner University students and faculty are given first priority. With this in mind, the following policies apply to community borrowers.

  • Interlibrary loan services are not available to community patrons.
  • Laptops checkouts are not available to community patrons.
  • Audiovisual materials may not be checked out. They may be viewed only in the library.
  • Periodicals are available for use only in the Library. Copiers are available if needed.
  • Materials on reserve for a course may not be checked out.
  • The campus wireless network is not open to non-Schreiner users.
  • Schreiner University students and faculty have priority for the use of the Internet, online catalog, microform and copy machines, AV equipment, and reference materials and services.
  • Group-study rooms are restricted to Schreiner University students, faculty, and staff.
  • Community hours and access may be restricted during peak academic times (midterms, finals, and special events).

Remote Access to Databases

  • While physically in the library, community patrons may use all of the library's electronic resources such as the library catalog and databases, including the TexShare databases and eBooks.
  • Remote access to Logan Library's subscription databases is not available to community patrons.
  • However, most Texas public libraries will provide their patrons with a special login and password to many of these databases because they are offered as a public service from your local public and by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
  • Community patrons should contact their local Texas public library for information on becoming an authorized user of the TexShare Databases.

Computer/Internet Policies

  • Four (4) computers are available for guest and community patron use and printing is available. Community patrons must pay for printouts upon receipt (no exceptions).
  • Laptops are not available for check out to community patrons.
  • The campus wireless network is not open to non-Schreiner users.
  • The Library provides computers for currently enrolled Schreiner University students, faculty, and staff for the purpose of accessing electronic research resources which support the educational mission of Schreiner University. Community patrons and non-affiliated users have access to computers depending on availability.
  • During high demand times, community patrons are asked to limit computer use to 30 minutes.
  • All users are expected to adhere to the general policies of Schreiner University regarding Internet use.

Applying For and Renewing Borrowing Privileges

  • Residents of Kerr and the six contiguous counties (Bandera, Edwards, Gillespie, Kendall, Kimble, and Real) are eligible to apply for community borrower privileges.
  • A photo ID and proof of residency (e.g., a driver's license) are required.
  • Dependents are required to have a parent or guardian come to the Library and sign the application form.
  • Borrowing privileges are valid for one year from the date of acceptance of the application.
  • Borrowing privileges may be renewed in person or by calling the Library at (830) 792-7312 during business hours.

Circulation Policies

  • A maximum of three books may be checked out at any given time.
  • Books circulate for three weeks.
  • A book may be renewed one time by phone or in person - if there is no hold on the item and no fines are owed.
  • Borrowing privileges are suspended when any item becomes overdue.
  • Borrowing privileges resume when the fine is paid and the book returned.
  • Fines for overdue books are 25 cents a day per book, up to a maximum fine of $7.00 per book.
  • In addition to the fine, a fee of $60.00 per book will be charged for each book that is not returned.
  • This $60.00 fee will be waived when the book is returned, but the overdue fines remain the responsibility of the borrower.
  • Two notices are sent reminding patrons to return overdue books.
  • Books checked out by community patrons may be recalled for use by Schreiner University students and faculty.
  • Failure to return a recalled book by the deadline will result in a fine and a fee of $60.00 per book.
  • Chronic offenders of library policies will have their borrowing privileges terminated.

What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary Loan (aka ILL) is a 24/7 service for members of the Schreiner University community (faculty, staff and students in good standing). This service obtains for our patrons research materials not available at Logan Library. Books are borrowed from other libraries, and photocopies of non-circulating materials such as journal articles are acquired.

Material stored in other media, such as videotapes and audiotapes, etc. may also be available for borrowing, depending on the lending policies of the owning libraries.

The conditions for this service are set by local agreements, the regulations of the individual lending libraries, and the National Interlibrary Loan Code.

Who may use Interlibrary Loan?

Only current Schreiner University students, faculty, and staff are eligible for Interlibrary Loan services.

Community patrons can inquire with their local public library for this service.

How do I use Interlibrary Loan?

TIPS
  • Online article request forms exist in many of the databases available at the Library.
    • For EBSCO databases, the link is found in the left menu when you are viewing the abstract of an article.
    • WorldCat's link is found at the bottom left corner of the detailed record screen.
       
  • Before filling out a request for a book, check the Library's catalog to ensure we don't already have it.
     
  • Fill out a Interlibrary Loan Request Online
     
  • Please ask for assistance at the Reference Desk if you are uncertain how to proceed.
     

To use our request forms

How long does a requested item take to arrive? 

The time taken for materials to arrive depends upon several factors, including:

  • how close the supplying library is to Schreiner University

  • whether or not the item is immediately available at that library, and

  • transit time (requested materials are usually sent by Library Rate mail.)

  • delays in delivery due to holidays, etc.

BOOKS may require 5 to 10 working days to arrive and must be returned

ARTICLES may require 3 to 7 working days to arrive and are yours to keep

Items are picked up and delivered to Logan Library on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays unless the library is closed for a holiday or an emergency.

Is there a charge for Interlibrary Loan items?

  • There is usually no charge for materials received through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Some libraries impose a processing fee for copies of journal articles however, you will be notified before any charges are accepted.
  • Faculty, staff and students are charged only when a supplier charges the library.
  • Rush delivery, when requested by the recipient, will be charged in full.

What is "Rush" Delivery?

  • While every effort is made to submit requests to likely suppliers within 24 hours of receipt, the Library and user must wait for the supplier's processing and delivery time.
  • For those who cannot wait the normal delivery time, ask at the Reference Desk about other options. For example: A library within driving distance may hold the needed material or articles may be obtained from commerical document suppliers who charge for their services.

Checkout Periods & Renewals

  • Each lending library determines its own checkout period; two to four weeks is the normal time allowed. The due date for each ILL item is written on the ILL cover strip.
  • Renewals may be requested if permitted by the lending library. This information is on the ILL cover strip.
  • Late fines are assessed by Loan Library for overdue Interlibrary Loan items.
  • Please help us maintain good relationships with other libraries by returning your Interlibrary Loan materials on time.

How do I know when and where to pick up ILL materials?

  • Articles: You will receive a call or an e-mail (as you requested) when your materials are ready for pickup. All available items are stored at the Library Circulation Desk until pickup.
  • Books: When your book arrives, you will receive an e-mail or phone call notifying you that it is available for pick-up at the Library circulation desk.
  • NOTE: You must bring your Schreiner ID card when picking up Interlibrary Loan materials.
  • Other libraries sometimes lend items with special conditions on the use of their materials such as "Library Use Only" and/or "No Copying."

Why are some requests filled in a few days, when others take longer?

There are several factors that influence how quickly you receive materials. If the item is located geographically nearby and is owned by a large number of libraries, it usually arrives quickly.

Each library has some items that cannot be borrowed through interlibrary loan. When only a few libraries own the material you are requesting, the chance of your requested material being part of the library's non-circulating collection increases. These requests require more time to exhaust all the options.

Are there copyright limits for journal articles?

We comply with national copyright guidelines which limit our office to obtaining, for all borrowers combined, only 5 articles from each journal per year and one article per issue. After the fifth article (from the last five years) we pay a copyright fee to the publisher.

Some publishers charge more than $25.00 per article in copyright fees and some publishers don’t allow copying beyond the copyright guidelines limitations. Individuals who request multiple articles from one journal title may be assessed copyright fees.

Copyright Restrictions

  • According to the guidelines of the 1978 Copyright Law, a library may obtain from another library no more than five copies of any article or articles from a single journal published in the last five years.
  • The five copy limitation applies even if each copy is of a different article or from a different issue.
  • The same rule applies to materials from other media (books or non-print). 
  • Requests above that number are subject to publisher approval or payment of copyright fees.
  • Such fees are the responsibility of the borrower.

Responsibility for Lost Items

  • Fines and fees for lost books are the financial responsibility of the borrower and will be charged to the borrower's account if unpaid at the end of a semester.
  • The lending library sets the fees for lost items. Logan Library may assess additional charges.
  • Lost book charges may be handled through the Interlibrary Loan Assistant.

Document Delivery Services

  • Upon request, copes of articles available on microfiche at Logan Library may be printed for student, staff, or faculty use. For details, consult the Interlibrary Loan Assistant or call ext.320.
  • Ingenta is one online service that allow free searching for articles and then charges a fee for the delivery of copies of needed articles.
  • For ERIC documents, search the ERIC database on FirstSearch using the ED accession number, e.g. ED123456, to find document details and the holding libraries who may be willing to copy the documents for interlibrary loan purposes.
  • For  specialized documents such as dissertations, try UMI Dissertation Services. These services deliver materials for a fee in a variety of formats.  

Table of Contents/Alert Services

  • Online services such as the EBSCO databases or even a publication's web site may offer e-mail delivery of tables of contents or abstracts from the journals in their collection.
  • Some also offer free e-mail delivery of citations, abstracts and articles. 
  • For faculty members, the Library can provide upon request delivery of e-mail or printed tables of contents.
  • Contact Interlibrary Loan at (830) 792-7320 if you are interested in this service.

Students and faculty may request a TexShare card to gain borrowing privileges at participating libraries throughout Texas. Cards may be requested in person with your university ID at the front desk. 

TexShare Program Home Page

Find a TexShare Library

Loading