SU home

logan banner logan home site map Logan Library

 

 

Logan Home > Guides > History

History Research Guide

Index

Primary Source Collections

Texas History

US History

Women's History

World History

 

Historical Databases

 

Primary Source Collections

General

U.S. History

Texas History

World History


General

The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy  Access to primary source materials in the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government.

Historical Text Archive Reproduces and links to articles, papers, documents, photos, and books that relate to world history.  Organized by original document format, world event, and geographic origination.

HyperHistory  Navigates through 3 000 years of World History with links to important persons of world historical importance, civilization timelines, events and facts.

Repositories of Primary Sources A listing of over 4300 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.

U.S. History

American Memory Historical Collections for the National Digital Library A gateway to more than seven million digital items, mostly primary source materials, on American history.

American Political Development Brings together a wide variety of resources for APD scholars in one easily accessible source. The Electronic Classroom will provide links to resources on the web for those teaching APD at the college level. Resources will include primary source links, syllabi, exam and assignment questions.The APD Town Square will gather information and links relevant to APD scholars including newly published articles and papers from a variety of journals and presses; conference and professional notices; links to relevant journals and journal articles. The APD Town Square will also host electronic discussion Forums on timely topics relevant to the APD field.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation Comprises twelve different titles, covering the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the 1st through 42nd Federal Congresses. The Journals of the Continental Congress, the Records of the Federal Convention of 1787, the Debates in the Several State Conventions on the Adoption of the Federal Constitution, the House and Senate Journals (1789-1873), the Senate Executive Journal (1789-1873), and the Journal of William Maclay (1789-1791) are all available both as digital facsimile images and as searchable texts. The Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), Congressional Globe (1833-1873), seventeen volumes of the Statutes at Large (1789-1873), and selected volumes of the U.S. Serial Set are available as digital facsimile images accompanied by searchable indexes and page headings.

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy Supplies American citizens direct access to basic federal government documents that define our democratic society, made available for free, permanent, public access via the GPO Access service.

County and City Data Books  Provides web access to electronic versions of the 1988 and 1994 County and City Data Books, including the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets.

Documenting the American South  A collection of sources on Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.

Douglass: Archives of American Public Address  An electronic archive of American oratory and related documents.

Federalist Papers: A series of 85 essays written by Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison, written and published to urge New Yorkers to ratify the proposed U.S. Constitution. Offers detailed insights into particular provisions of the Constitution.

Frederick Douglas Papers at the Library of Congress  Papers of the nineteenth-century African-American abolitionist who escaped from slavery and then risked his own freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher. The papers span the years 1841 to 1964, with the bulk of the material from 1862 to 1895.

Historic Documents Index 1972-1999 A cumulative index covering all documents presented in the twenty-eight volumes of Historic Documents, from 1972 through 1999.

Historical United States Census Browser  Presents data regarding the people and the economy of the US for each state and county from 1790 to 1960.

The Oregon Trail Archive A collection of primary resources, including diaries, about the experiences of those who used the Oregon Trail to find a new home in the west.

Political Cartoons and Presidential Elections, 1860-1912 Offers access to political cartoons found in Harper's Weekly and other leading journals concerning the presidential elections from 1860 to 1912.

Additional resources available through the History of the U.S. page.

Texas History

Links to Texas History Primary Source Documents on the Internet  The most comprehensive collection of links to primary source documentation for the history of Texas.

Texas Constitutions Digitization Project Presents the project aimed to digitize all the different versions of the Texas Constitution and make them available on the web.

Texas Memories: Oral Histories Online Provides access to written transcripts of interviews contained in the Oral History Collection at the Institute of Texan Cultures.

Texas Treasures Contains digital images of important resources from the Texas State Archives. Also offers transcripts to handwritten documents as well as background information with historical context.

Additional resources available through the Texas History page.

World History

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe

France - Primary Documents

International Institute of Social History  Holds over 2,300 archival collections, some 1 million printed volumes, and a similar number of audio-visual items. The available collections are accessible through an online catalogue, an online index of archives and inventories. Website of one of the world's largest documentary and research institutions in the field of social history and the labor movement.

Sources of English Constitutional History A selection of documents from A.D. 600 to the present. (Online book)

Nobel e-museum  Provides access to information about the scientific and literary achievements as well as peace efforts recognized by the Nobel Prize. Strives to stimulate interest of students in the Prize areas.

Additional resources available through the World History page.

back to top of pageto top

 

Texas History


Adventures of Big Foot Wallace, the Texas Ranger and Hunter
  Online book about frontier life in Texas.

Gamel's Laws of Texas (Vol. 1-10) Offers digital access to historical Texas laws, including browsing and searching options.  Originally a collection of salvaged Texas government documents, rescued and rewritten after the Texas Capital burned down in 1881.

The Handbook of Texas Online  A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture.  Gathers more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. 

Lone Star Junction: A Texas History Resource A gateway to various resources on Texas history.  Includes a database of important Texans, two online books, transcriptions of historical documents, and book reviews.

A Shared Past: Texas and the United States Since Reconstruction

Texas Forts Trail The Texas Forts Trail is a geographic grouping of 8 frontier forts in West Central Texas.

Texas State Library and Archives Commission Provides access to archival documents and manuscripts, as well as finding aids to specific subject areas researched at the Commission.

***For primary source materials, access the Primary Source Collections

back to top of pageto top

 

Women's History

General

Geographic Guide to Uncovering Women's History in Archival Collections

VIVa: A Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals Indexes articles in over 100 scholarly journals in history and women's studies published 1975 to present. 

Women and Social Movements in the U.S., 1775-2000

Women in American History

Women's History in Archival Collections

Politics

By Popular Demand: "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920

Votes for Women: Selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921

Specific Events/Time Periods

Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World

Feminae: Medieval Feminist Index Offers a searchable index of literature focusing on sexuality, gender issues, and women. Indexes dissertation abstracts, journal articles, book reviews, and essays.

Salem Massachusetts Witch Trials

Women Come to the Front: Journalists, Photographers, and Broadcasters During World War II

back to top of pageto top

 

World History


General Links

The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy  Contains primary source materials in the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government.

HyperHistory  Navigates through 3,000 years of World History with links to important persons of world historical importance, civilization timelines, events and facts.

International Institute of Social History  One of the world's largest documentary and research institutions in the field of social history in general and the history of the labour movement in particular. The IISH holds over to 2,300 archival collections, some 1 million printed volumes and about as many audio-visual items. The available collections are accessible through an online catalogue, an online index of archives and inventories.

NetSERF Includes links to military history, social history, timelines, associations and societies, etc., emphasizing Medieval history.

Sources of English Constitutional History A collection of select documents from A.D. 600 to the present. (Online book)

Africa/Asia/Australia

Fairbank Chinese History Library A collection of links organized by period, with information dating back to 1644.

History in the News: Middle East History, Society, and Culture Resources  Offers links to maps and resources on religion, news and media, politics, culture, and economics.  Includes a unique "Regional Resources" section, where one can click on map to discover statistics and facts about countries contained in the Middle East region.

MENIC: Middle East Network Information Center  Offers a comprehensive, searchable collection of online resources on the Middle East. 

Europe

Early Modern England Source  Presents different resources available online for the study of early modern English history.  Use the 'menu' link at top of page to access these resources.

Encyclopaedia of British History: 1500-1950 Compiles information about British history into an extensive online resource.  Includes biographical information on important figures, from royalty to social movement leaders.

Irish History on the Web Creates a one-stop center for Irish history links on the Internet.  Covers topics such as the Irish Famine, Bloody Sunday, Sinn Fein, Oscar Wilde, and Celtic history.

Russian and East European Studies Virtual Library  A collection of Internet sites searchable through pre-determined subject areas, regions, and time periods.

Russian History Offers links to numerous chronological, political, religious, and social resources gathered by Bucknell Univerisity's Russian Studies Program.

North/South/Central America

Brazilian Government Document Digitization Project Offers access to digitized versions of presidential and ministerial reports dating as far back as 1821.  Includes a search engine for topical access.

Canadian Confederation Presents the history of Canada through original essays, maps, photos, and biographical sketches. Offers access to primary source material on Canadian history.

Latin American Resources A collection of links to websites useful for the study of Latin American countries and their history.  Also available in Spanish and Portuguese. 


***For primary source materials, access the Primary Source Collections page

back to top of pageto top