SU home

logan banner logan home site map Logan Library

 

 

Logan Home > General Info Links

General Info Links

General Info Websites

Academic Info - Educational Subject Directory A huge directory of educational information and links.

Acronym Finder Find out what any acronym, abbreviation, or initialism stands for.

Ad Council The organization behind Public Service Advertisements or "PSAs".

Air Quality Information Check out the air quality where you are.

Allergy Info Check allergies and pollen count on interactive maps.

Almanacs A directory of various almanacs.

American Memory American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

American Women's History: A Research Guide Maintained by Middle Tennessee State University Library

Area Codes (Phone) Look up area codes.

AskALibrarian - Library of Congress Many different subject areas that are supported by online reference, some offer live chat.

Babel Fish - Translations Online translator of text, for example English to Spanish.

Bartleby.com Great Books Online Online directory of eBooks, most are classics.

BBC News: Country Profiles Interactive profiles of countries.

Biography-Center A directory of biographies.

Biography.com Online biography archive.

Book Appraisals Find out how much your books are worth.

BookFinder.com Locate books by author, title, ISBN, etc.

Butt-Holdsworth Memorial Library Kerrville Public Library

CensusScope A tool to read and display census data.

Chronicle of Higher Education Freebies An archive of search tools and other research approaches and options.

Chronicling America Access to America's historic newspapers.

The Citation Machine Make APA and MLA citations from ISBN numbers.

Citation Matcher for PUBMed Articles Aides in finding citations for PubMed articles.

ClinicalTrials.gov All kinds of information about past, present, and future clinical trials.

Code of Federal Regulations US government web page about CFR.

Dictionaries Online A Yahoo directory of online dictionaries.

Digital Libraries Links A Google directory of online libraries.

DOI LookUp All about digital object identifiers- for the librarians and info pros.

Encyclopedias Online A Yahoo directory of online Encyclopedias.

FAFSA Information Federal Student Aid Info.

Financial Aid - Money for College A directory of student aid, loans, and scholarships.

Free Online Books - Project Gutenberg Ebook directory, many in the public domain.

Gale Literary Index Search tools from Gale, feature search by author, title, etc.

Handbook of Texas Online The Handbook of Texas Online is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association (description from web page).

HighWire Press - Stanford University Accessible scholarly publication.

How Stuff Works By Discovery Channel.

Infomine Scholarly Internet Resources Online, by University of California Riverside.

InfoPlease Varied informational links.

Infotrieve Article Finder A database of scientific, technical, medical, and other scholarly content.

The Internet Archive An online library with video, music, books, and more.

Internet Broadway Database IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information (description from web page).

Internet Movie Database IMBD is the Internet Movie Database.

Intute: Arts & Humanities A research website directory.

Journal Abbreviation Sources A tool to find Journals or their abbreviations.

Lab Tests Online A public resource on lab testing from the professionals that do the testing.

Librarian's Index to the Internet IPL2 is online reference service from Drexel University.

Library of Congress Main Index.

Library of Congress Webcasts Recordings from the LOC.

Library of Texas Main Index including an overview of services.

Literary Market Place A resource for librarians in regards to book publishing.

NAICS & SIC Codes The North American Industry Classification System.

National Science Digital Library NSDL is the Nation's online library for education and research in
Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics (description from website).

New York Review of Books

New York Times Movie Reviews

NewspaperArchive.com A resource for historical and genealogical information

Occupational Outlook Handbook An informational web page on occupations, includes outlook, trends, salary info and more.

On This Day in History An archive of web resources that give historical data based on the date.

OneLook Dictionaries An online dictionary.

OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories (description from website).

Population Index An archive of resources related to population facts and figures.

Portal to Texas History Texas history resources from University of North Texas Libraries.

Privacy Rights Clearinghouse An informational page about privacy issues and the world around us.

PublicRadioFan A directory of public radio stations and programs.

Quoteland An archive of quotes of every kind.

Rare Books & Manuscripts: ACRL

Research Randomizer This site is designed for researchers and students who want a quick way to generate random numbers or assign participants to experimental conditions (description from website).

School and Education Grants An informational site about fund raising.

Sperling's Best Places Find the best places to live.

State & County Quick Facts Access to facts about people, business, and geography.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Texas Law Help A resource for free and low-cost civil legal assistance.

Texas Online The official website of the State of Texas.

Texas Records and Information Locator Service Texas Records and Information Locator.

Texas State Data Center Statistical Data for the State of Texas.

U.S. Census Bureau American Factfinder An American fact finder.

U.S. Government Bookstore Find books published by the US government.

U.S. Government Manual The handbook of the federal government.

U.S. Tax Code Online U.S tax information.

Visual Thesaurus An interactive dictionary and thesaurus that allows you to discover the connections between words in a visually captivating display (description from website).

Webopedia-Tech Definitions A resource for definitions of technical terminology.

World Fact Book World data from the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).

Zip Code Lookup Find zip codes for addresses or cities.