SU home

logan banner logan home site map Logan Library

 

 

Logan Home > Guides > Education

Education Research Guide

Databases

 

Electronic Resources


Academic Costume Code & Ceremony Guide

ACT: ACT Assessment  Information on Registration, Test Prep, Test Dates

bigchalk.com Provides a broad spectrum of educational Internet services to teachers, students, parents, librarians and school administrators in the K-12 educational and public library markets.

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site  A collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance This web site provides access to a searchable database of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals. Also available on this site are several aids to guide users in the writing of a proposal to apply for assistance. Browse the CFDA Contents page to learn more about them.

Children's Literature Web Guide Internet resources related to books for children and young adults.

Clearinghouse on Reading, English, and Communication  Provides educational materials, services, and coursework to everyone interested in the language arts.

College Board Online: Test Dates SAT, ELPT, PSAT/NMSQT, AP, CLEP information.

College Catalogs Online College catalogs both new and old, web sites, profiles, and travel information.

College Navigator

College Opportunities Online Search information in IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System), the core postsecondary education data collection program for National Center for Education Statistics. UT TeleCampus  Hundreds of links to services -- from admissions offices to online bookstores.

Completing the FAFSA This Department of Education web site explains how to properly complete a FAFSA   (Federal Application for Student Aid) for the 2000-2001 school year, the purpose of the FAFSA questions, and how to report information in some unusual cases. Includes online FAFSA application form and help in filling it out, etc.

DiscoverySchool.com Provides innovative teaching materials for teachers, useful and enjoyable resources for students, and an entire store full of helpful learning products for parents to share with their children. The site is reviewed for educational relevance by practicing classroom teachers in elementary school, middle school, and high school. Includes: Lessons Plans and Quiz Center, located under Teaching Tools.

edHelper.com Currently 9547 Lesson Plans, 1078 WebQuests, 633 File Downloads, 6767 Additional Educational Sites, 120 Free Worksheet Generators, Educational News Updated Daily!spacer

Educational Technology Journals spacer

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. The new ERIC online system, released September 2004, provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. Effective October 1, more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, will be available for free.

Education Statistics at a Glance

Education Week Special Reports  Includes Report Series: Quality Counts and Technology Count

Educational Testing Service:  ETS Provides access to information on 20,000 tests including: 

Educators's Desk Reference

EDUCAUSE Transforming Education Through Information Technologies

Electronic Education Journals

ENC Onine - K-12 Math and Science Teacher Center Provides an excellent selection of math and science education resources. Supports teachers' professional development in math, science, and the effective use of technology. Serves all K-12 educators, parents, and students with free products and services.

Encyclopedia of Education Statistics

ERIC Digests

ExCET Study Guides and Preparation Manuals The official Texas Examinations of Educator Standards (TExES) and Examination for the Certification of Educators in Texas (ExCET) Web site. This Web site is maintained by National Evaluation Systems, Inc., for the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC).

Fathom Fathom's member institutions present their immense wealth of knowledge across every area of interest-from business to global affairs, from arts to technology. Free registration.

FinAid Information on the types of financial aid, the application process, testing, etc.

Gateway to Educational Materiuals

GED Test Centers in Texas

The GRE Website The Graduate Record Examination web site makes available free downloads of GRE software and practice books. Also provides online access to registration, diagnostic testing, and information on graduate schools. Includes information on test dates, locations, and fees.

International Archive of Education Data IAED makes education data collections from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) fully accessible to the research community. A primary source for publications, reports, and other statistics based upon data collections archived with IAED is the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).

Internet Resources for Higher Education Outcomes Assessment

Internet TESL Journal For teachers of English as a Second Language - Articles, Research Papers, Lessons Plans, Classroom Handouts, Teaching Ideas & Links This is a monthly web journal, so make a bookmark.

IPEDS College Opportunities Online  Searchable by region, state, city, zip code, type of institution, instructional program, name of institution, number of students enrolled, and participation in federal aid programs.

Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators A categorized list of sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth. It is updated often to include the best sites for teaching and learning. Includes a series of web page evaluation surveys, one each at the elementary, middle, and secondary school levels designed to allow students to critically evaluate a Web page for authenticity, applicability, authorship, bias, and usability.

Learning Page A web site designed to help teachers, students, and lifelong learners use the American Memory digital collections from the Library of Congress. The site provides guidance to finding and using items within these primary source collections.

McGraw-Hill Higher Education Knowledge Gateway For instructors planning to teach, or already teaching, a course online. Provides help in creating a course web site, delivering current events information through the Web, or placing a book on a CD-ROM, or creating an entire course online.

MERLOT A free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education. Links to online learning materials are collected here along with annotations such as peer reviews and assignments.

National Center for Education Statistics NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations. Search the NCES web site for publications and data products, tables and figures, in-depth answers to common questions via a subject list, and lists of   postsecondary institutions, public schools or districts, public libraries, or private schools in the United States.

National Science Teachers Association "to promote excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all".

Peterson's Home Page: Colleges, Career Information, Test Prep and more. "The most comprehensive and heavily traveled education resource on the web, brought to you by Peterson's--the nation's leading information services provider."

Quia - Quintessential Instructional Archive Free online directory of thousands of online games and quizzes in more than 40 subject areas Templates for creating twelve different types of online games, including flashcards, matching, concentration (memory), word search, hangman, challenge board, and rags to riches (a quiz-show style trivia game). Tools for creating online quizzes. Quiz administration and reporting tools.

Schools on the Web Texas Education Network (TENET) web site designed to provide useful, up-to-date resources for the education community, including teachers, administrators, parents and students.

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) The Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools is the recognized regional accrediting body in the eleven U.S. Southern states (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia) and in Latin America for those institutions of higher education that award associate, baccalaureate, master's or doctoral degrees. The Commission on Colleges is the representative body of the College Delegate Assembly and is charged with carrying out the accreditation process.

State of Texas/Education  Links to a variety of links including the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC)

Study Abroad Use country portals to find study abroad programs, travel info, maps, and more

TeacherFocus  Free registration for forums, access to a calendar of public events, private events and birthday links, plus links to a variety of teacher resources.

TeachNet.org The World Wide Web site for IMPACT II-The Teachers Network, a national nonprofit organization that supports classroom teachers in the United States.

TENET Web   Texas Education Network site. Resources for the education community, including teachers, administrators, parents and students.

Test Reviews Online - from the Buros Istitute of Mental Measurements

Testing Information from ETS

Texas Academic Skills Program (TASP) Includes registration and preparation information for the TASP test as well as practice tests.

Texas Assessment of Knowledge & Skills (TAKS) 

Texas Colleges & Universities Includes a link to the Compendium of Texas Colleges and Financial Aid.

Texas Education Agency This site contains information about educational programs, curriculum, student assessment, released and online tests, accreditation, school finance, school laws and rules for the state of Texas. Includes Teacher's Tool Bag

Texas Essential Knowledge & Skills (TEKS) 

TExES Preparation Manuals

TExES/ExCET Home Page

THEA Testing The THEA Test was approved by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, under Senate Bill 286, Texas Education Code, Section 51.3062: Texas Success Initiative, for use by Texas institutions of higher education as an assessment instrument to evaluate incoming students. It provides the diagnostic data required by this legislation; its content is the same as that of the former TASP Test.

The THEA Test is the only assessment developed specifically to evaluate the readiness of students for college-level coursework in Texas. It was developed through a rigorous review and approval process supported by skilled and experienced Texas educators. All THEA Test questions have been reviewed by committees of Texas educators to ensure content accuracy and to prevent potential bias.

Timeless Classics: Books for Young Readers A National Endowment for the Humanities compilation of tried-and-true titles published in 1960 or earlier.

Topica  A directory of Internet discussion groups: mailing lists, newsgroups, and IRC chat channels. 

Tutorial Find  Find tutorials on "absolutely everything"

U.S. Department of Education Includes: Topics to Z area for browsing the site's contents. A search function is included for entering specific queries.

UT TeleCampus  Hundreds of links to services -- from admissions offices to online bookstores.

World Lecture Hall University of Texas web site that provides links to pages created by faculty worldwide who are using the Web to deliver course materials in any language.

World Wide Learn  Online courses, online learning and online education for adult learners worldwide. Includes a link to over 200 free online courses offered by Freeskills.com.

Writing a Summary