Economics Research Guide
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
- Economia y Negocios (EBSCO)
- LexisNexis Academic
- Regional Business News (EBSCO)
- Research Starters - Business
- Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCO)
BBC News: Country Profiles The BBC News website launched in November 1997 and has since published approaching one and a half million full multi-media news pages, most of which are still available from the site's search engine (top right of almost every page). A wide variety of sources are used in the preparation of material - including BBC News, BBC World Service and a large number of internationally-recognised news agencies including the Press Association, Associated Press, Reuters and Agence France-Presse. Note: This site has two main homepages - the UK version, and the World Edition - with a more international feel.
Dow Jones Interactive Learning Center Includes an historical timeline and interactive tools as well as the genealogy of the Dow, along with a comparison of each company’s stock performance (excluding dividends) while in the industrial average with the DJIA’s performance for the same period.
Economagic: Economic Time Series Page This page is meant to be a comprehensive site of free, easily available economic time series data useful for economic research, in particular economic forecasting. The majority of the data is USA data. The core data sets involve US macroeconomic data (that is, for the whole US), but the bulk of the data is employment data by local area -- state, county, MSA, and many cities and towns.
Economics LTSN: Online Teaching Material Economics LTSN is one of a nationwide network of 24 subject-based centres, created to promote high quality learning, teaching and assessment practices in UK Higher Education.
The Economics Net-Textbook with Interactive Graphics Use this site to graphically analyze and explore economic theories and concepts at your own pace. The lessons are interactive and each topic presents subsidiary issues that may be analyzed by the student and results are illustrated interactively with a click.
Economics Resources for College Teachers A collection of information and web links showing activities to use in economics classes and sites of other teachers of economics.
Economist.com Provides analysis of world business and current affairs, and authoritative insight and opinion on international news, world politics, business, finance, science and technology, as well as overviews of cultural trends and regular industry, business and country surveys. Country Briefings
A vast cornucopia of economic statistics culled from
all over the world. Visitors can quickly access a wide range of
economic data from the United States, such as information about inflation,
unemployment levels, productivity, new factory orders, and the price of crude oil. Also contains links to economic data from Canada, Britain, Germany, the European Union, France, Italy, Russia, and China.
Federal Reserve System Links to the 12 Federal Reserve Districts and Banks are included. Use FED101 an interactive web site about the Federal Reserve System that contains quizzes and a virtual bank examination. The Flash version is a sound and video presentation that requires Flash and a fast connection.
FRASER Federal Reserve archival system for economic research. Historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.
Guide to Labor Oriented Internet Resources This guide is organized by subject in order to make viewing and downloading the documents easier. The documents are located on the main web site for the Institute of Industrial Relations, socrates.berkeley.edu/~iir.
History of Economic Thought Archive An attempt to gather all material for the study of the history of economics at one site. This includes both primary texts, studies of those texts and of their authors.
IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research Welcome to the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Over 700,000 items of research can be browsed or searched, and over 600,000 can be downloaded in full text! This site is part of a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in Economics, RePEc. To see the popularity of these services, browse the statistics at LogEc
Inomics: Internet Site to Economists Inomics provides at a single stop on the Internet all the professional information economists need. It is a community platform and Inomics services are absolutely free in most cases.
RePEc: Research Papers in Economics A volunteer-driven initiative to create a public-access database that promotes scholarly communication in economics and related disciplines. The database contains information on more than 585,000 items:
16,200 individual professionals (their contact information and associated publications)
10,700 institutions (economics departments, research institutes, and governmental organizations)
bibliographic information on 237,000 working papers published by institutions and individuals
bibliographic citations for 344,000 articles from the leading journals in the discipline
1,600 software descriptions and programs
of which more than 478,000 items are available on line.
RePEc's capabilities are unique in this regard: the RePEc database links information on the published and unpublished works of thousands of economists. RePEc promotes scholarly communication by providing a database that welcomes all providers of unpublished materials (working papers, discussion papers, research reports, conference papers) and publishers of journals (including scholarly societies, commercial and non-commercial publishers) to place their bibliographic information in the public domain. Individual economists are invited to identify the documents they have authored in the database. RePEc is volunteer-driven, and all RePEc information is freely available from web-based RePEc services such as:
Socionet Personal Zone (http://spz.socionet.ru/index-en.shtml ),
Current RePEc data are used in the NEP (New Economics Papers, http://nep.repec.org) service that provides subject-specific current awareness email lists.
Resources for Economists on the Internet This guide is sponsored by the American Economic Association. It lists 1,194 resources in 68 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics. Almost all resources are also described.
U.S. Department of the Treasury The basic functions of the Department of the Treasury include:
Managing Federal finances;
Collecting taxes, duties and monies paid to and due to the U.S. and paying all bills of the U.S.;
Currency and coinage;
Managing Government accounts and the public debt;
Supervising national banks and thrift institutions;
Advising on domestic and international financial, monetary, economic, trade and tax policy;
Enforcing Federal finance and tax laws;
Investigating and prosecuting tax evaders, counterfeiters, and forgers.
The World Bank Group Contains information on the developing world. The annual World Development Report overview is useful in providing a contextual setting for understanding the present and future challenges facing nations and regions in the developing world.
The World Fact Book The CIA provides details of the demographic, geographic, political, legal and economic makeup of countries and territories worldwide, with maps and references. Appendixes include information on abbreviations, a weights and measures chart, plus information the United Nations System, International Organizations and International Environmental Agreements, and more.
World Wide Web Resources in Economics Lists and describes material that could be of interest to mainly academic economists and is at least in part freely available on the Internet.