Default Fields ...... Which fields are they?
The
'default fields' for each database are found in the 'Searchable
Fields' document linked to 'More Information' and 'Database
Help'. The 'Default Fields' will vary across the databases.
Limiters
Limiters
let you narrow the focus of your search so that the information
retrieved from the databases you search is limited according to
the values you select. You can use more than one limiter if more
than one is available.
Common
limiters that may appear below the Refine Search tab include:
- Full
Text - Click to limit results to articles with full text.
- Cover
Story - Click to limit results to articles that were featured as cover
stories.
- Journal/Magazine - Enter a journal/magazine name in this field to limit results
to articles only from that title.
- Peer
Reviewed - Limits search results to articles from peer-reviewed
journals. Peer-reviewed journals are publications that include
only those articles that have been reviewed and/or qualified by
a selected panel of acknowledged experts in the field of study
covered by the journal.
- Date
Published - Use this option to search for articles within
a specified date range. Create a range by using the drop-down
lists to specify the months of the range and enter the last two
digits of the year in the entry fields to specify the years of
the range.
- Number
of Pages - Enter a number in this field to limit results to
a specific number of pages in length. Place the < (less
than) or > (greater than) symbol before the number to
search for articles with a specific page length range.
- For
example: to search for articles that are greater than three
pages in length, enter >3 in this field. You can
also use a dash to enter a range of pages.
- For
example, to find articles between five and ten pages long,
enter 5 - 10.
Limiters
do limit one another. If you select both Full Text and Cover Story
limiters, the results that are retrieved include only Full Text
items that are Cover Story items. The exception to this rule is
the use of Full Text and Local Titles limiters. In this situation,
use of these limiters produces a list of results that has Full Text
or is part of a local collection.
(The
use of limiters may also vary by database. For example, MEDLINE
may handle limiters differently than Academic Search Complete.)
Limiters
and Search History
Advanced
searches from your current session are saved and numbered, starting
with S1. You can combine saved searches by entering them in the
Find field - for example, S1 and S2. When you do, the limiters from
each search are applied to the new search.
- If
S1 is a search for heart and (PT Case Studies or PT Practice Guideline)
and S2 is a search for liver and kidney and FT Y, a search that
combines S1 and S2 searches:
- S1
and S2: ((heart) and (PT Case Studies or PT Practice Guideline))
and ((liver and kidney) and (FT Y))
- S1
or S2: ((heart) and (PT Case Studies or PT Practice Guideline))
or ((liver and kidney (and FT Y))
- In
either case, the limiters from both searches are included.
Searches
run from the Basic Search Screen are not saved to the History File
used by the Advanced Search Screen. Lateral searches and searches
launched from a record (via a link) are recorded to search history
if the Advanced Search Screen is your starting point.
Expanders
Expanders
let you broaden the scope of your search. They do this by widening
your search to include words related to your keywords or including
the actual text of the full text results in your search.
Common
expanders that can appear below the Refine Search sub-tab include:
- Also
Search for related words - Select this option to expand results
to include the synonyms and plurals of your terms.
- Search
within full text articles - Select this option to search for
your keywords within the full text of articles, as well as abstract
and citation information. This applies only to words not qualified
by a field code.
- Include
all search terms by default - Select this option to search
for all terms you entered, in any order within the text. Your
terms are automatically "anded" together. If you surround
terms with quotation marks, the phrase within the quotation marks
is treated as one term.
Boolean Operators (And, Or, Not)
Boolean
logic defines logical relationships between terms in a search. The Boolean search operators are and, or and not.
You can use these operators to create a very broad or very narrow
search.
And combines search terms so that each search result contains all of
the terms. For example, travel and Europe finds articles
that contain both travel and Europe.
Or combines search terms so that each search result contains at least
one of the terms. For example, college or university finds
results that contain either college or university.
Not excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of
the terms that follow it. For example, television not cable finds results that contain television but not cable.
The
following table illustrates the operation of Boolean terms:
And |
Or |
Not |
| Each
result contains all search terms. |
Each
result contains at least one search term. |
Results do not contain the specified terms. |
| The
search heart and lung finds items that
contain both heart and lung. |
The
search heart or lung finds items that
contain either heart or items that contain lung. |
The
search heart not lung finds items that
contain heart but do not contain lung.
|
Parentheses
If
you use parentheses with the Boolean operators, the terms inside
the parentheses are processed first.
Including
Phrases in a Search - Stopwords, Quotation Marks, Punctuation
Using
Stop Words
- EBSCOhost treats certain words as "stop words"--for example, and,
or and not. Stop words are always ignored, even if they are enclosed
in quotation marks.
- Stop
words are commonly used words such as articles, pronouns and prepositions.
Stop words are not added to the search dictionary, since their
relevance is minimal, but they are counted as words for proximity
(the distance between words). Ignoring stop words allows EBSCOhost to retrieve a more precise Result List, especially for a relevancy
ranked search.
- EBSCOhost ignores stop words (such as the, for, of and after), finding any single word in its place.
For example, if you entered company of America, EBSCOhost would find company of America, company in America,
or company for America. It would not find company of
the America, because the search engine retains a word distance.
- The
stop word or will be replaced with any word. For example if you
searched for sink "or" swim, the results could
include sink don't swim.
- If
you enter two stop words, EBSCOhost will find any two words
in the place of the stop words. For example, if you searched for company of the America, EBSCOhost finds any two
words in the place of the stop words.
- EBSCOhost has two primary lists of stop words, separate for Boolean and
Natural Language searching. Additionally, several databases have
their own list of stop words. All of these lists were created
based upon The Library of Congress' suggestions on stop words,
as well as our own statistical analysis.
Using
Quotation Marks
- If
you enter the search phrase "sink or swim" in
double quotation marks EBSCOhost still considers or a search operator, and finds results with either "sink" or "swim."
- Typically,
when a phrase is enclosed by double quotations marks, the exact
phrase is searched. This is not true of phrases containing stop
words. A stop word will never be searched for in an EBSCOhost database, even if it is enclosed in double quotation marks. A
search query with stop words only (i.e. no other terms) yields
no results.
- If
you enter phrases with punctuation, EBSCOhost searches
for the term both with and without the punctuation. For example,
if you enter television: talk show, EBSCOhost finds
results with television talk-show, television talk show,
and if synonyms have been activated, TV talkshow.
- If
you enter hyphenated words in a search, EBSCOhost automatically
searches for the word in both hyphenated and non-hyphenated forms.
For example, entering coca-cola will find both Coca
Cola and Coca-Cola.
Wildcard
(?) and Truncation (*) Symbols
- Use the wildcard and truncation symbols to create searches where
there are unknown characters, multiple spellings or various endings.
Neither the wildcard nor the truncation symbol can be used as
the first character in a search term.
- The wildcard is represented by a question mark (?).
To use the wildcard, enter your search terms and replace each
unknown character with a ?. EBSCOhost finds all
citations of that word with the ? replaced by a letter.
- For example, type NE?t to find all citations containing neat, nest or next. EBSCOhost does
not find net because the wildcard replaces a single character.
- Truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use
truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending
with an *. EBSCOhost finds all forms of that word.
- For example, type comput* to find the words computer or computing.
Proximity
Searches
You
can use a proximity search to search for two or more words
that occur within a specified number of words (or fewer) of each
other in the databases. Proximity searching is used with a keyword
or Boolean search.
The
proximity operators are composed of a letter (N or W)
and a number (to specify the number of words). The proximity
operator is placed between the words that are to be searched, as
follows:
- Near Operator (N) - N5 finds the words if they
are within five words of one another regardless of the
order in which they appear.
For example, type tax N5 reform to find results that
would match tax reform as well as reform of income tax.
- Within Operator (W) - In the following example, W8 finds the words if they are within eight words of one another
and in the order in which you entered them.
For example, type tax W8 reform to find results that
would match tax reform but would not match reform of income
tax. Field
Codes
You
can use field codes to create a search using indexed fields
referenced in either the citation or full display (or full text,
if available). EBSCOhost uses two-character abbreviations
for field codes such as SU-Subject, AU-Author or TI-Article
Title.
Field
codes are database specific. For more information on
which searchable fields are available for a database, on the Choose
Database Screen, click the More Information link for the database. From the Basic Search or Advanced Search
screen, click the Database Help link.
To
create a search using a field code:
- At the Search Screen, type one of the two-letter codes before
your search terms in the text entry field. For example, to search
for articles that include the subject sports injuries and the term hockey, type: SU Sports Injuries and
Hockey.
- Click Search. The Result List appears.
(From
EBSCOhost Online Help - 3/29/04) |