SU home

logan banner logan home site map Logan Library

 

 

Logan Home > Guides > Business

Business Research Guide

Databases

Electronic Resources


Ad*Access
  Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

Advertising Research Foundation A nonprofit corporate-membership association which is today the preeminent professional organization in the field of advertising, marketing and media research.

Advertising World  Resources for advertising & marketing professionals, students, and teachers. The most extensive collection of advertising-related links on the Web! From the UT-Austin Advertising Department.

American Management Association  The American Management Association (AMA) is the world's leading membership-based management development organization. Offers a full range of business education and management development programs for individuals and organizations in Europe, the Americas and Asia.

Annual Reports Online  The Public Register's Annual Report service. View a company's annual report online or request a free hard copy.

Associations Directory   A searchable database of business related associations around the world. There are currently 2,500 associations in the database. Search by Title, Area Code, City, State, Zip Code or Category.

BigCharts A free, comprehensive, and easy-to-use investment research web site providing access to professional-level research tools like interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis, intraday stock screeners, as well as market news & commentary. Includes access to Historical Stock Quotes

@brint.com   @brint.com is "the premier business and technology portal and global community network for business, technology and knowledge managers, professionals and entrepreneurs defining, designing and implementing business enterprises for the new economy."

Business.com A comprehensive directory of business web sites that has been put together by a team of more than 50 researchers and industry experts.

Business Ethics Resources on the WWW   Links to codes of ethics, publications and papers, web pages on specific topics.

Business Owner's ToolKit  From CCH. Includes essential information on starting, financing, managing and marketing a small business. Downloadable checklists, model business plans, forms and other documents, interactive employment tools and coursework, and a small business online advice columnist.

Career Development Manual  Includes "Steps to Career Planning Success" allows for self-assessment, occupational research, decision making, employment contacts, work, and career/life planning.

Companies Online Contains information on over 60,000 public and private US companies with web sites. There are several search options, but the main feature of the site is a hypertext connection to each retrieved company.

Corporate Information - A source for both Privately-Held and Publicly-Held U.S. and international company information.

Current Industrial Reports Provides data on key barometers and indicators regarding U.S. economic production and activity.

CyberAtlas The Web marketer's guide to online facts. Provides readers with valuable statistics and Web marketing information, gathers online research from the best data resources to provide a complete review of the latest surveys and technologies available.

Dow Jones Interactive Learning Center Includes an historical timeline and interactive tools as well as the genealogy of the Dow, along with a comparison of each company’s stock performance (excluding dividends) while in the industrial average with the DJIA’s performance for the same period.

Drucker Archives The Drucker Archive’s activities encompass four major initiatives: 1) maintaining and making available the physical archive, known as the “Collection”, 2) creating a web-based electronic archive, 3) curriculum enrichment, and 4) research activities related to Professor Drucker’s nfluence on the practice of management.

e-center for Business Ethics Provides a source of information on business ethics, corporate citizenship and organizational compliance. The goal of the e-business ethics center is to create a virtual community of organizations and individuals that share best practices in the improvement of business ethics.

EAA-Emergence of Advertising in America 1850-1920   9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.

EDGAR Online Critical business, financial and competitive details for the activities of every U.S. public company. Includes both free and subscription services. Includes real-time SEC EDGAR filings, full text searching for annual reports, etc. Or try Free EDGAR 

EntreWorld: Resources for Entrepreneurs A resource for small business owners, provides more than 1,000 articles, audio clips, tools, databases, articles, and town-to-town small business event listings.

Fast Company  Strives to provide a big picture of the New Economy by presenting unique online tools and content as well as the full magazine archives online.

Federal Register (1994 to present) Official daily publication for Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents.

Financial Times Search over 8.5 million articles from 3,000 periodicals worldwide, most of them for free.

The Fortune Lists Some lists are freely accessible, other require a subscription.

The Fortune 500 

Free Pint Free Pint is a community of 51260 information researchers globally. Emphasis on the United Kingdom.

Global Business and Finance Resources These are international business and finance-related links which on the whole provide work on multinational firms, international business practices, financial data and financial information. Academic links exist, but this section has been restricted to primarily industry research and analysis, especially those of international investment corporations.

Historical Stock Quotes 

Hoover's Online  Hoover's Online offers many resources for company research. Access to Hoover's Company Profiles - in-depth profiles on more than 3,400 companies. Search by location, industry, sales, and/or company type.

inc.com  Provides management resources, online tools, and useful sources for entrepreneurs and small businesses.

Internet Graphs and Charts   Nua Internet Surveys is the authoritative source online for information on Internet demographics and trends. Marketing statistics for a variety of categories from 1995 to date.

Internal Revenue Service

KnowThis.com  The Internet's Reference & Resource Web Site for Marketing, Research, Advertising, Selling, Promotion & More. Covers basic marketing, advertising, selling, research and much more.  

Morningstar.com  The leading provider of mutual fund, stock, and variable-insurance investment information, providing unbiased data and analysis, and candid editorial commentary.

Moody's Credit opinions, research, and ratings on fixed-income securities, issuers of securities and other credit obligations.

NAICS & SIC Codes  The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) has replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. NAICS was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to provide new comparability in statistics about business activity across North America.

Online Women's Business Center  Information about everything from how to start your business to how to operate in the global market place. Brings you the most current information on business principles and practices, management techniques, mentoring, networking, and business resources.

Patent  Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image Databases from the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

PricewaterhouseCoopers Rich meta-site includes :business plan templates, financial models and ratios, benchmarks. Search home page for "Vision to Reality," then select "Tools and Techniques."

Researching Companies Online This business research tutorial presents a step-by-step process for finding FREE company and industry information on the World Wide Web.

SCORE A nonprofit association dedicated to entrepreneur education and the formation, growth and success of small business nationwide. More than 10,500 volunteer counselors provide individual counseling and business workshops for aspiring entrepreneurs and small business owners.

Small Business Development Centers  This program is a cooperative effort of the private sector, the educational community and federal, state and local governments. It enhances economic development by providing small businesses with management and technical assistance.

Standard & Poor's Extensive site that includes a variety of information on securities and investments. Includes ratings services as well as investment, fund and research services.

Test Reviews Online - from the Buros Istitute of Mental Measurements

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers  Search for manufacturers of industrial products and services.

U.S. Business Advisor A one-stop electronic link to all the information and services government provides for the business community. Includes resources on: Business Development, Financial Assistance, Taxes, Laws and Regulations, International Trade, Workplace Issues, and Buying and Selling. Includes a variety of forms. Created by the Small Business Administration (SBA), former vice-president Gore's National Partnership for Reinventing Government (NPR), and the U.S. Business Advisor interagency task force.

U.S. Census Bureau The Business section includes a link to the most recent Economic Census which provides a detailed portrait of the Nation's economy once every five years from the national to the local level.

U.S. Tax Code Online This document allows you to access the complete text of the United States Internal Revenue Code, Title 26 of the U.S. Code (26 USC) in a variety of ways. Hyperlinks have been embedded in the Code to permit following cross-references between sections with a simple mouse click. A WAIS-based full-text search engine allows you to quickly locate Code sections by content.

Value Line  Provides timely information for investors on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles. Educational resources include Value Line University, an on-line tutorial on how to use the Value Line Investment Survey to manage your stock portfolio, and How To Use The Value Line Investment Survey Page, a guide to the major features found on every company page of Ratings & Reports

VassarStats 

Web100 - Big Business on the Web Tracks the largest American and international companies on the Web (ranked by revenue) including their Fortune® 500 and Global 500 rankings.