Where
are the Library's books listed?  |
Books,
as well as other kinds of materials in the library's collections
are listed in the online
catalog which is available from any Internet-connected computer.
NOTE: If the Library's catalog is down, you may use WorldCat to find out if we own the item.
To
find the call number for the item, display the book's record on
WorldCat and scroll down to see the CLASS DESCRIPT: field. Write
down the LC information and use it to look for the book in
the Library's collection. You may ask for assistance from any library
staff member.
|
Using the Library's Catalog |
 Spelling is important. Capitalization is not. Punctuation may be.
 Do not include the "a", "an" or "the"
if one begins a title.
 Search for an author's works by using his last name.
 Before going to the shelf, check to see if the item's status is
"On Shelf".
 If it is not, you may place a Hold on the item at the Circulation
Desk. When it returns, you will be notified.
 Before going to the shelf, write down all of the call number
information and note the location.
 You may ask for assistance from any library staff member.
|
Browsing
vs Searching  |
- Browsing
is useful when you have the exact title, author, or subject
information and want to retrieve a list of items using that information.
- For
example, a list of items titled "a midsummer night's dream",
a list of an author's works, or a list of items about computer
science.
- Searching
with keywords can be very effective if information is only partially
known. Entering one or more terms (spelled correctly) will
result in a list of records that contain those terms.
- For
example, "midsummer and dream" or "cyborg".
- Note:
To obtain fewer hits, try using the search limits button found
at the bottom right of the screen.
|
Arrangement
On The Shelf  |
Books
on the Library's shelves are arranged according to the Library
of Congress System of Classification which uses letters
and numbers in combination to identify and group books by subjects.
This
number is usually found on the book's spine and it known as
the call number. The
call number usually appears on the spine of the book in a vertical
manner, as shown below.
QC
(Broad Subject)
851 (Specific
Subject)
L43 (Author
Code )
1978 (Date Published)
In
addition to the call number, an item is assigned to a particular
location. Letters
in front of a call number usually indicate that it is shelved in
a special place. For example, A.V. PN1997 .J38 is
an item in the Audiovisual Collection and it is housed in a closed
area. To see this item, ask Library staff for assistance.
|
Locations  |
The
Library's collection is divided into several areas or locations for
a variety of reasons: type of material, size, format, audience, circulation
status, etc. Learn more about locations. Library Map
- Law
Collection All legal materials are housed in the Grand Hall
just beyond the Circulation Desk.
- BestSellers Located on rotating bookshelves at the far end of the Grand Hall.
- REF
(Reference) The first four aisles of books to the right of
the Reference Desk.
- Periodicals This location is used for the Library's collection of magazines
and journals. Shelved alphabetically by title. Current issues
are shelved separately the from older ones. The most accurate
information on periodicals is located on
the web. These items must be used in the library.
- Newspapers The latest issues are housed at the Circulation Desk and may not
leave the library.
- Main
Stacks This is the large book collection on the tall shelves
in the main part of the Library.
- Folios
(Oversize) Located near the windows to the right of the Reference area.
- A.V.
(Audiovisuals) Ask for assistance. All items are shelved in
closed areas.
- C.C.
(Children's Collection) Located to the right on the Sun Porch.
- Y.A.
(Young Adult) Located to the left on the Sun Porch.
- H.C.C.
( Hill Country Collection) Ask for assistance. These materials
are shelved in a closed area and must be used in the library.
|
What
if a book is not on the shelf?  |
- If
a book is not on the shelf, check the online catalog again to
be certain the call number is correct, you have the correct
location information, and the status is "On Shelf".
- Look
to the right, left, above, and below of the spot where the book should be on the shelf to see if it has been shelved out
of order.
- Check
the shelving carts - located near the Reference Desk and
at the Circulation Desk.
- If
a book is not found in any of these areas, ask the Circulation
staff to place a hold on it, or, if it has been missing for
a while, request that a search be conducted for the book.
- If
a book cannot be located, you may want to try to obtain it from
another library by making an Interlibrary
Loan Request.
|
What
if the Library does not own a book?  |
- Ask
for assistance from a Library staff member.
- The
book may be available in another library within driving distance.
Try searching other library
catalogs for the book.
- It
may be possible to locate the book in another library's collection
and borrow it through Interlibrary Loan.
|
Other Places To Find Books  |
Another
way to find books is to search WorldCat,
OCLC's online catalog. This catalog contains listings for millions
of books and other materials owned by libraries around the world,
including books and other items owned by Logan Library. Items not
owned by Logan Library can usually be obtained/borrowed by making
an Interlibrary Loan Request.
|