Logan Home > Guides > Art
Art Research Guide
Biographical Resources - General and background information on an author.
- Contemporary Artists REF N6490 C6567 1977
- Art and Artists REF N5300 145 1984
- Artists of the American West REF N6536 F5 1986
- American Women Artists REF N6505 R8 1982
- Dictionary of American Painters, Sculptors and Engravers REF PS 21 A45
Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- CAMIO
- Contemporary Authors, Literary Criticism (Gale)
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences III
- Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
- Literature Resource Center (Gale)
- MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO)

- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
- ProjectMuse Humanities Collection
- Twentieth Century American Poetry (ProQuest)
- Twentieth Century English Poetry (ProQuest)

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - General and background information on a topic.
- The Dictionary of Art, REF N31.D5 1996
- The Encyclopedia of Visual Art REF N31 E1983
- Encyclopedia of Pottery and Porcelain 1800-1960 REF NK 3920 C36 1986
Electronic Resources
Creative Arts
Art and Graphic Design Resource Center Tips, tutorials, freeware and plugins. Links to freelancing opportunities.
Art History Resources on the Web A meta site of hundreds of links to art history resources categorized by time period and country.
Artcyclopedia: the Fine Art Search Engine
ArtLex--On-line Art Dictionary More than 2,400 alphabetically arranged entries. Some 50 popular terms have their own links from the front-page frame.
Artslynx Visual Art Resources A collection of links ranging from organizations to publications in the visual arts area. Includes photography links.
AXIS Provides information about contemporary British artists and makers living/working in Britain. The Axis database currently features artists and makers with artwork images.
Ceramic Resources - Artists Online
CGFA-A Virtual Art Museum Houses more than 5000 scans, dating from the medieval age to the early 20th century.
Communication Arts Network Includes link to Interactive Communication Arts Design Annual.
Complete Guide to Digital Cameras and Photography Offers a number of tutorials and informational essays on all aspects of digital photography, camera operation, and editing digital photos. Visitors can learn about how to choose a digital camera, how to display and share digital photos, and how to best use one's digital camera for a variety of purposes.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture Images, documents, digitized texts.
EXPLO.TV - Webcasts, Video Clips, and Podcasts from the Exploratorium To view a Webcast, you need to have the required media player (Real, Quicktime, or Windows Media) installed on your computer. The required media player is listed next to the Webcast date on both the upcoming Webcasts and archive pages.
Metropolitan Museum of Art In formation since 1870, the Metropolitan Museum's collection now contains more than two million works of art from all points of the compass, ancient through modern times. About 3,500 objects-fifty highlights from each of the Museum's curatorial departments as well as the entire department of European Paintings-can be searched by artist, period, style, or keyword. You may also explore other works from the Met's collection by taking the director's tour; viewing some of the Museum's recent acquisitions; or by visiting the Timeline of Art History, the Period Rooms: Virtual Reality Tour, or the Provenance Research Project.
National Gallery of Art (NGA) This site includes both extensive virtual tours (16) and good background essays. Search the collection by subject, artist name, title key words, school, style, creation date, medium, and/or short list of popular subjects, name of a previous owner of a work of art, or the accession number of the object.
National Museum of Women in the Arts Brings recognition to the achievements of women artists of all periods and nationalities by exhibiting, preserving, acquiring, and researching art by women and by educating the public concerning their accomplishments.
National Portrait Gallery Web site for the London gallery established in 1856 to collect likenesses of famous British men and women. Includes an online database of 11,000 works searchable by sitter, artist, title, time period, or profession.
NYPL Digital Library Provides access to over 415,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia A guide to the performing arts collections and exhibitions at the Library of Congress
W3Schools Online Web Tutorials One of the most comprehensive web developer tutorial sites on the Internet. Nearly everything a developer needs to know about building web sites. In-depth tutorials cover all the major standards established by the W3C as well as a variety of other web technologies. Includes: HTML, XML, Browser Scripting, Server Scripting, .Net, Multimedia and web buildings, PHP, Flash.
Web Gallery of Art Over 9,200 digital reproductions of European paintings and sculptures created between the years 1150 and 1800. A considerable number of the pictures are commented and biographies of the significant artists are given. The search engine allows you to find pictures in the collection using various search criteria. A number of guided tours make it easier to visit the Gallery and to understand the artistic and historical relationship between different artworks and artists included in the collection.
Web Museum, Paris Thousands of images as well as informative essays concerning styles, genres, and mediums. Essays are laced with hyperlinks to definitions of terms or related artists.
Graphic Design
All Graphic Design.com Graphic Design Portal with Graphics Resources and Desktop Publishing
Directory of DTP resources including Graphic Design Image Editing
Shareware, Graphic Design Message Boards / Forums, Actions, Filters,
Templates, Graphic Design Schools, Graphic Design Jobs, and other
graphic design resources.
Art and Graphic Design Resource Center Tips, tutorials, freeware and plugins. Links to freelancing opportunities.
Art Museum Network Serving the World's Leading Art Museums
ArtLex--On-line Art Dictionary More than 2,400 alphabetically arranged entries. Some 50 popular terms have their own links from the front-page frame.
Artslynx Visual Art Resources A collection of links ranging from organizations to publications in the visual arts area. Includes photography links.
Communication Arts Network Includes link to Interactive Communication Arts Design Annual.
CORE 77 Industrial design supersite.