Skip to main content

Home: About Us

W.M. Logan Library, Schreiner University, Kerrville, Texas

Library Policies (click on a box below to display contents)

All cell phone use except text messaging is prohibited in the library. The library staff will respond appropriately to noise complaints. If cooperation is not forthcoming, offenders will be asked to leave the building.

You are permitted to have food and drink in the library, but we do ask that you take your food to the Coffee Corner for consumption. Beverages with lids are allowed in the main library. Please use caution with beverages around computer equipment and books.

Policy
Schreiner Students
Schreiner Employees
Schreiner Faculty
Community
Patrons

Loan Periods
(if no fines or fees owed)

Books - 21 Days
A/V Items - 3 days
(all items are due before closing on last day of exams)

Books - 21 Days
A/V Items - 3 days

Books - 180 Days
A/V Items - 6 weeks

Books - 21 Days
A/V Items - Not Loaned

Maximum Number
of Borrowed Items

Books - Unlimited
A/V Items - 3
Laptops - 1
 

Books - Unlimited
A/V Items - 3

Unlimited Borrowing

Books - 3
A/V Items - Not Loaned

Renewals
(if no fines or fees owed)

Books - 1
A/V Items - None
Laptops - None

Books - 1
A/V Items - None

Unlimited Renewals
(all items subject to recall)

Books - 1
A/V Items - Not Loaned

Overdue Fines
(per item / per day)

Books - $.25
A/V Items - $1.00
Laptops - $50.00

Books - $.25
A/V Items - $1.00

N/A

Books - $.25
A/V Items - Not Loaned

Maximum Fines
(per item)

Books - $7.00
A/V Items - $90.00
Laptops - $150.00

Books - $7.00
A/V Items - $90.00

N/A

Books - $7.00
A/V Items - Not Loaned

Lost Item Fees
(per item / plus any fines)

Books - $60.00
A/V Items - current market price + $15.00 processing fee
Laptops - $900.00

Books - $60.00
A/V Items - current market price + $15.00 processing fee

N/A

Books - $60.00
A/V Items - Not Loaned

** All items are due before closing on the date indicated on the item.
To avoid holds on accounts, students must return all items before closing on the last day of exams.


Borrowers are responsible for their items until the items are checked in at the Circulation Desk.
As a courtesy, the Library sends overdue notices, but takes no responsibility for late or undelivered notices.
Archival materials, periodicals, and most reserve materials are not loaned out of the building.

Rexford Quick, MLIS

Library Director

830.792.7313

RWQuick@schreiner.edu

 

Lisa McCormick, MLS

Instruction & Outreach Librarian

830.792.7418

LMMcCormick@schreiner.edu

 

Ylanda Copeland

Technical Operations Supervisor

830.792.7316

ycopelan@schreiner.edu

 

Kay Long

InterLibrary Loan/Serials Assistant

830.792.7320

KILong@schreiner.edu

 

Gracien Ramos

Evening Coordinator

830.792.7315

GARamos@schreiner.edu

 

Erica Bell

Acquisitions Assistant

830.792.7317

EJBell@schreiner.edu

 

Nathaniel Aubin

After Hours Email Assistance

NBAubin@schreiner.edu

Only currently enrolled Schreiner students may borrow laptop computers. Laptops accrue overdue fines and fees as stated on the Laptop/Netbook Responsibility Agreement form (available at the Circulation Desk) signed during initial laptop checkout each semester. Lost or damaged fees for laptop equipment and peripherals are charged in addition to any overdue fines. Laptops may not be renewed.

 

Eligibility

  • Schreiner University welcomes residents of the area to use the Logan Library.
  • Area residents may use books, periodicals, and computer resources within the building and ask the reference staff for assistance.
  • To take books out of the building, residents of Kerr and the six contiguous counties (Bandera, Edwards, Gillespie, Kendall, Kimble, and Real) are asked to complete an application form at the Circulation Desk and pick up a copy of the Borrower Policies (see tab above for Borrower Policies).

Behavior Policies

  • Anyone who enters the building must exhibit appropriate library behavior.
  • All children must be accompanied by and supervised by an adult.
  • People who exhibit inappropriate behavior and/or disturb Schreiner University staff, students or faculty will be asked to leave the building.

Limitations

The needs of Schreiner University students and faculty are given first priority. With this in mind, the following policies apply to community borrowers.

  • Interlibrary loan services are not available to community patrons.
  • Laptops checkouts are not available to community patrons.
  • Audiovisual materials may not be checked out. They may be viewed only in the library.
  • Periodicals are available for use only in the Library. Copiers are available if needed.
  • Materials on reserve for a course may not be checked out.
  • The campus wireless network is not open to non-Schreiner users.
  • Schreiner University students and faculty have priority for the use of the Internet, online catalog, microform and copy machines, AV equipment, and reference materials and services.
  • Group-study rooms are restricted to Schreiner University students, faculty, and staff.
  • Community hours and access may be restricted during peak academic times (midterms, finals, and special events).

Remote Access to Databases

  • While physically in the library, community patrons may use all of the library's electronic resources such as the library catalog and databases, including the TexShare databases and eBooks.
  • Remote access to Logan Library's subscription databases is not available to community patrons.
  • However, most Texas public libraries will provide their patrons with a special login and password to many of these databases because they are offered as a public service from your local public and by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
  • Community patrons should contact their local Texas public library for information on becoming an authorized user of the TexShare Databases.

Computer/Internet Policies

  • Four (4) computers are available for guest and community patron use and printing is available. Community patrons must pay for printouts upon receipt (no exceptions).
  • Laptops are not available for check out to community patrons.
  • The campus wireless network is not open to non-Schreiner users.
  • The Library provides computers for currently enrolled Schreiner University students, faculty, and staff for the purpose of accessing electronic research resources which support the educational mission of Schreiner University. Community patrons and non-affiliated users have access to computers depending on availability.
  • During high demand times, community patrons are asked to limit computer use to 30 minutes.
  • All users are expected to adhere to the general policies of Schreiner University regarding Internet use.

Applying For and Renewing Borrowing Privileges

  • Residents of Kerr and the six contiguous counties (Bandera, Edwards, Gillespie, Kendall, Kimble, and Real) are eligible to apply for community borrower privileges.
  • A photo ID and proof of residency (e.g., a driver's license) are required.
  • Dependents are required to have a parent or guardian come to the Library and sign the application form.
  • Borrowing privileges are valid for one year from the date of acceptance of the application.
  • Borrowing privileges may be renewed in person or by calling the Library at (830) 792-7312 during business hours.

Circulation Policies

  • A maximum of three books may be checked out at any given time.
  • Books circulate for three weeks.
  • A book may be renewed one time by phone or in person - if there is no hold on the item and no fines are owed.
  • Borrowing privileges are suspended when any item becomes overdue.
  • Borrowing privileges resume when the fine is paid and the book returned.
  • Fines for overdue books are 25 cents a day per book, up to a maximum fine of $7.00 per book.
  • In addition to the fine, a fee of $60.00 per book will be charged for each book that is not returned.
  • This $60.00 fee will be waived when the book is returned, but the overdue fines remain the responsibility of the borrower.
  • Two notices are sent reminding patrons to return overdue books.
  • Books checked out by community patrons may be recalled for use by Schreiner University students and faculty.
  • Failure to return a recalled book by the deadline will result in a fine and a fee of $60.00 per book.
  • Chronic offenders of library policies will have their borrowing privileges terminated.

Security policies

The University prevents networked computer users from installing software on library machines. Additionally, if the network cable is pulled from the outlet, the connection is instantly disabled. Only Schreiner computers may be plugged into campus network connections.

The exception to this policy extends along the windowed sides of the library where there are wired connections (ports) that you may utilize with your own LAN cable (student access only).

Schreiner staff, students and faculty are provided with a login and password to access email and library resources.

Community patrons may use designated computers (4 located near the Reference desk). Passwords are posted on the machine for immediate use.

Locked Accounts/Computers

Three failed attempts to login to a library computer will result in a locked account that will become usable again in 30 minutes. For assistance, ask at the Reference Desk. Library computers also time out when users forget to logoff. These computers can be made usable again by restarting the computer with the power button.

Email Access

Email access is available to students and community patrons via the web only. Access to Schreiner email is available via a link on the Library's home page.

Printing

Printing in black and white or color is available to all users via a login and password system. A library printer (printer name:"library black and white aristapus") must be selected before printing anything or the printouts will come out in the computer lab in Dickey Hall.

  • Schreiner students are provided with printing accounts whose balance is refreshed each semester. Additional monies may be added to student printing accounts by consulting staff at the Reference Desk.
  • Community patrons must pay for printouts at the Circulation Desk at time of pickup.

Wireless Internet Access

The campus wireless network (provided by Apogee) is available to the Schreiner community. The library has a number of laptops available at the Circulation/Reserve Desk for checkout to Schreiner students. Wireless internet is only available to Schreiner Students, Faculty, and Staff.

Available Library Computers and Equipment

The Library has approximately 50 computers with Internet access available for student and community use. Resources such as the Library's web catalog, article and citation databases, and dozens of informational web pages are accessible through the Library's web site.

Computers are located in four areas of the building.

  • An ADA-compliant workstation with access to the Internet, MS Office, Kurzweil software and OmniPage Pro is available near the Reference Desk (located inside the Sunporch). 
  • Twenty (20) computers with access to the Internet and Microsoft Office are located in the main part of the Library near the Reference Desk.
  • Four (4) computers located near the Reference desk are dedicated to guest users (guests of Schreiner, parents, family, and community patrons.
  • Two (2) computers are connected to scanners in which images can be saved to USB external drives. One (1) of the scanner computers also has Adobe creative software (Photoshop, Illustrator, etc.).
  • Two (2) computers are located within private study rooms.
  • Twenty (20) computers are located at the far end of the main part of the Library in an area referred to as the Sun Porch Electronic Classroom. These computers are loaded with Microsoft Office applications, some specialized software, as well as Internet Explorer.
    • When not scheduled for instruction, the Sun Porch machines are available for students.
    • To schedule use of the Sun Porch Electronic Classroom, instructors may call ext. 7319 or stop by the Reference Desk.
    • To schedule bibliographic instruction, please contact a librarian to schedule a class time and date.

Schreiner University students and faculty may place holds on checked out items by speaking to a library staff member at the Circulation Desk. Hold requests are filled in the order received and items are held for five (5) days before they are re-shelved. Holds may not be placed on reserve items or laptops. Items are not recalled. Books maybe renewed on the phone. AV items may not be renewed.

Except in emergencies, library staff will not relay personal messages or search for patrons in the Library. Student Services must approve all materials posted on the library's bulletin board. (Cailloux Center-ext. 283)

Loading

Mission

Welcome to the Logan Library website. Below you will find our mission statement, values, and goals.  I encourage you to contact me or any library staff member for feedback or ideas on how we can better serve and support your academic and informational needs.  Our #1 goal is to serve the Schreiner University campus community of students, faculty, and staff.

-Rexford Quick, Library Director

rwquick@schreiner.edu library@schreiner.edu

Mission Statement

The mission of the William M. Logan Library is to provide traditional and innovative information resources and services in support of the educational programs of Schreiner University.  To fulfill this mission, the Library commits to:

  • Understand the research, teaching, and learning needs of its users;
  • Build collections and create tools to support research, teaching, and learning;
  • Provide access to and promote the discovery and use of local and external information resources;
  • Ensure the preservation and long-lasting availability of Library collections and resources;
  • Create hospitable physical and virtual environments for study, teaching, and research;
  • Collaborate with other members of the University to enrich the research and learning community;
  • Advance local, national, and international library and information initiatives;
  • Develop, encourage, and sustain expertise, skill, commitment and an innovative spirit in its staff.

Program Introduction

William M. Logan Library supports undergraduate to graduate level teaching and learning by developing student-focused resources, services, and environments that support all disciplines of study and life-long educational development.

Administrative Outcomes

  1. Students, faculty, and staff are aware of library services.
  2. Patrons find that the library’s information resources meet their needs.
  3. Students and faculty are aware of the role information literacy skills play in student academic success.

 

History

History

 The Library is named for Dr. William M. Logan who was a Presbyterian minister and Chair of the Board of Trustees from 1955-1972.

Ordained in 1935 after receiving his Masters in Divinity from the Austin Seminary, Dr. Logan came to Kerrville in 1950 where he was a pastor at the First Presbyterian Church.  He took on leadership roles in local organizations including Schreiner Institute where he was a Board of Trustee member and also helped found the Mo Ranch Presbyterian Retreat. He later served as a pastor in San Antonio, Austin, and Brownwood. Dr. Logan kept careful records of his sermons, and thus  left his records to the library before passing in 1999.  His portrait (see image right) hangs in the main part of the Library.  The William M. Logan Collection is available for research by appointment.

Logan Library's current 34,000 square feet began with an original building of 7,000 square feet. Designed by Ford, Powell and Carson, Inc. of San Antonio, the $5.5 million expansion was completed in 1985 by wrapping new construction completely around the original library.

Today, Logan Library houses over 83,000 volumes and provides Internet access from 40 workstations. Students find quiet contemplation in private study rooms and classes often take advantage of two multimedia machines as well as the 20 computer workstations in the Sun Porch Electronic Classroom. Prior to 1967, the Library was housed in the Tom Murray Building, built in 1940.

The Grand Hall was completed in 1992 with funds provided by the Fish Foundation. The tapestry hanging in the Hall is 5 by 15 feet and was created by Becky Patterson. Based on Psalm 8, it offers Hill Country representations of Adam, Eve, and the Peaceable Kingdom.

 

In the Library

interior logan  logan exterior

In the Library

  1. 88,000 volumes, 200+ periodical subscriptions, 90+ online databases (38 full text), over 10,000 online journals, and over 150,000 eBooks
  2. Comprehensive reference collection of 5000 books
  3. Interlibrary Loan Services
  4. 50+ student workstations in Main Library
  5. Sun Porch Classroom with 28 workstations
  6. Multimedia Production Center equipped with flatbed scanners and software to allow production of multimedia or video
  7. Archival digitizing center
  8. Collaborative study rooms equipped with whiteboards and large flatscreen monitors
  9. High Definition Telecommunications System for specialized classes (Texas Language Consortium)
  10. Two degreed faculty librarians available for class instruction and individual assistance 

Library Hours (Fall and Spring Semesters)

7:30am - Midnight

7:30am - 4:00pm

12:00pm - 4:00pm

3:00pm - Midnight

Loading

General Info

William M. Logan Library

Schreiner University
2100 Memorial Blvd.
Kerrville, TX 78028-5697
Phone: 830.792.7312

library@schreiner.edu

© Copyright 2017

Schreiner University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate, baccalaureate, and masters degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Schreiner University.

Connect With US