Logan Library - Home

Library HomeDirectorySpecial CollectionsLibrary HoursHow Do I...?

Databases by Name
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Academic Search Complete  (EBSCO - TexShare Core ) Journal Titles List spacer Other Sources List top 

Contains more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Areas of academic study include: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Contains PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals. Updated daily. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

AGRICOLA (EBSCO - TexShare Core) top

Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library dating back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Alt Health Watch (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Provides full text for 180 publications and in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

American Chemical Society - Web Editions & Archives (ACS - TexShare Select) top

  • Accounts of Chemical Research 
  • ACS Chemical Biology
  • Analytical Chemistry 
  • Biochemistry 
  • Bioconjugate Chemistry 
  • Biomacromolecules
  • Biotechnology Progress 
  • Chemical & Engineering News
  • Chemical Research in Toxicology 
  • Chemical Reviews 
  • Chemistry of Materials
  • Crystal Growth & Design 
  • Energy & Fuels 
  • Environmental Science & Technology 
  • Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research 
  • Inorganic Chemistry
  • Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry
  • Journal of the American Chemical Society
  • Journal of Chemical & Engineering Data 
  • Journal of Chemical Information and Modeling
  • Journal of Chemical Theory and Computation
  • Journal of Combinatorial Chemistry 
  • Journal of Medicinal Chemistry 
  • Journal of Natural Products 
  • Journal Of Organic Chemistry 
  • Journal of Physical Chemistry A
  • Journal of Physical Chemistry B
  • Journal of Proteome Research
  • Langmuir 
  • Macromolecules
  • Molecular Pharmaceutics
  • Nano Letters 
  • Organic Letters 
  • Organic Process Research & Development
  • Organometallics 
Annual Review of Biochemistry (annualreviews.org - Schreiner) top

Provides reviews of primary research literature identifying the principal contributions in the field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

Annual Review of Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure (annualreviews.org - Schreiner) top 

Provides reviews of primary research literature identifying the principal contributions in the field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences (annualreviews.org - Schreiner) top

Provides reviews of primary research literature identifying the principal contributions in the field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution and Systematics (annualreviews.org - Schreiner) top

Provides reviews of primary research literature identifying the principal contributions in the field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

Annual Review of Environment and Resources (annualreviews.org - Schreiner) top

Provides reviews of primary research literature identifying the principal contributions in the field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

Annual Review of Genetics (annualreviews.org - Schreiner) top

Provides reviews of primary research literature identifying the principal contributions in the field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

Annual Review of Nutrition (annualreviews.org - Schreiner) top

Provides reviews of primary research literature identifying the principal contributions in the field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

Annual Review of Psychology (annualreviews.org - Schreiner) top

Provides reviews of primary research literature identifying the principal contributions in the field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

ArchivGrid (OCLC - Free with WorldCat subscription as of 2009) top

Search through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.

ArticleFirst (OCLC FirstSearch Base Package - TexShare Select) Title List top FirstSearch Basics

OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals covering business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, technology. Covers 1990 to present.

Bibliography of Native North Americans (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

A bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Journal Titles List spacer Subjects ListspacerOther Titles List top

A comprehensive scholarly business database containing hundreds of active, peer-reviewed, business related journals. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. Searchable, cited references are provided for more than 1,200 journals. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

CAMIO (OCLC - Free with WorldCat subscription as of 2009) top

Includes works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. Highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covers the complete range of expressive forms.

Licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.

CLASE and PERIODICA (OCLC FirstSearch Base Package - TexShare Select) Title List top  FirstSearch Basics

Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities from 1975 to present. PERIóDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology from 1978 to present.

Computer Source (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology offering full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography  (Gale - TexShare Core) top

  • Contemporary Authors provides complete biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism--Select collects more than 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

CQ Researcher (CQ Press - Schreiner) top

Covers a wide range of political and social issues, including topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Years covered include 1991 to date. A comprehensive index is available online.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ - TexShare Free) top

Provides indexing, abstracting, and free full text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health science, languages and literature, mathematics, physics, engineering, the arts, business, environmental science, history, law, political science, philosophy, religion, and social science.

EBSCO Animals (EBSCO - TexShare Core) top

Provides students with thousands of easy-to-read entries about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, dinosaurs and prehistoric animals. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Economia y Negocios (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Economía y Negocios is the result of a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados). This continuously updated bibliographic database is an indispensable tool for research conducted in the areas of business and economics. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Electronic Books (OCLC FirstSearch Base Package - TexShare Select) top FirstSearch Basics

OCLC catalog of over 210,000 electronic books (includes netLibrary titles) available through libraries worldwide

Electronic Collections Online (OCLC FirstSearch Base Package - TexShare Select) Title List top FirstSearch Basics

An OCLC collection of 5,400+ scholarly journals covering agriculture, anthropology, business, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, language, law, library science, literature, medicine, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, social science, technology. Covers 1995 to present.

eLibrary Curriculum (ProQuest - TexShare Core) top

Designed specifically for K-12 schools and libraries. More than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus thousands of pictures, maps, educator-approved web sites from Homework Central®, plus multimedia (audio/video) content. eLibrary is the perfect resource for delivering
full-text and multimedia reference essentials.

Search results can be sorted by by relevance, date, file size, Lexile or reading level, publication, and source, and content that's directly linked to state and national teaching standards is included.

Use the BookCart functionality to build persistent links to pre-selected content, creating reading lists, subject and topic pages, standards-linked lessons and activities, community interest pages, and even
pre- or post-assessments.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition (Britannica - TexShare Select) top

Access to high-quality, comprehensive information written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts. Encyclopædia Britannica articles are trusted resources with balanced, global perspectives and unique insights.

The combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research—starting with the encyclopedia, moving on to the atlas, world data, the Classics, biographies, news, multimedia, and more.

Includes: World Data Analyst Online - a comprehensive database of statistics on every nation of the world and Gateway to the Classics - 225 works by 140 authors that offer an introduction to significant works of history, literature, philosophy, and science.

ERIC (EBSCO - TexShare Core) top

Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Fuente Academica (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

A collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers providing full text coverage (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia (EBSCO - TexShare Core) top 

This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

GPO Monthly Catalog (OCLC FirstSearch Base Package- TexShare Select) top FirstSearch Basics

Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Includes a bibliographic citation in each record. Covers 1976 to present.

GreenFILE (EBSCO - Free ) Title List top

A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. GreenFILE’s initial release will include Abstracts and indexing for more than 600 titles. Comprehensive coverage from volume 1, issue 1 to present for Bioscience (back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), Journal of Ecology (back to 1913) and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management (back to 1948). The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Handbook of Texas (TSHA - TexShare Free) top 

A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture comprised of more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topics.

Health and Wellness Resource Center & Alternative Health Module (Gale - TexShare Core) Title List top

A resource for alternative and complimentary therapies providing a rich collection of books, journals, magazines and pamphlets for consumers and health care professionals and includes information on alternative topics such as, herbal remedies, yoga, homeopathy, midwifery, chiropractic and more.

Health Reference Center - Academic (Gale - TexShare Core) Title List top

Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Provides consumer information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

HeritageQuest (ProQuest - TexShare Core) top

Beginning with more than 25,000 family and local histories, HeritageQuest Online is growing to include the complete U.S. Federal Census from 1790-1930, the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), the Revolutionary War Pension Applications & Bounty Land Warrant Applications, and the Freedman's Bank Records.

Information Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCO - TexShare Free) Title List top

Provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings with coverage dating back to the mid-1960s. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

InfoTrac Newspapers   (Gale - TexShare Core) Title List top

Dates of coverage vary for this collection of over 100 U.S. and international newspapers with start dates beginning in January of 1996. Includes a 365 day rolling file for the New York Times.

Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Provides abstracts and indexing for over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development and more. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences II Collection (JSTOR - Schreiner) Title List top

Arts & Sciences II includes the full text of 124 titles. It focuses on history, economics, and Asian studies. Arts & Sciences II also offers core journals in archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies. Register for a MyJSTOR account in order to:

  • Save citations
  • Email citations
  • Export citations to bibliographic software

The most recent issues (published in the last 3 to 5 years) are usually not available in JSTOR.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences III Collection (JSTOR - Schreiner) Title List top

Arts & Sciences III includes the full text of 150 titles. It focuses on languages and literature, as well as the fields of music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Register for a MyJSTOR account in order to:

  • Save citations
  • Email citations
  • Export citations to bibliographic software

The most recent issues (published in the last 3 to 5 years) are usually not available in JSTOR.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV Collection (JSTOR - Schreiner) Title List top

Arts & Sciences IV includes the full text of 112 full text titles. It focuses on the professions of education, business, and law, and also includes titles in psychology and public policy and administration. Register for a MyJSTOR account in order to:

  • Save citations
  • Email citations
  • Export citations to bibliographic software

The most recent issues (published in the last 3 to 5 years) are usually not available in JSTOR.

Legal Collection (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

LexisNexis Academic (LexisNexis - Schreiner) Research Help Durable Link Tool top

Provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs, including:

  • National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources
  • U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information
  • Shepard’s® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789
  • Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news

Literature Resource Center with Twain's and Scribner (Gale - TexShare Core) Contents spacerJournals List top

LRC includes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale's most-used literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 121,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers such as philosophers, filmmakers, and anthropologists. Includes Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism-Select and Dictionary of Literary Biography.

MAS Ultra: School Edition (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title ListspacerSubjects List spacerOther Titles List top

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for more than 700 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating as far back as 1975 for key magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 500 full text pamphlets, more than 350 full text reference books, 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Journal Titles List spacerSubjects ListspacerOther Titles List top

Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE(tm) Premier contains full text for 2,005 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 320 reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps & flags. Offers PDF backfiles (as far back as 1975) for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post, etc. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

MedicLatina (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

A Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. Provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

MEDLINE with Linked Full Text   (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top 

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Middle Search Plus (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Journal Titles List Other Titles List top

Provides full text for nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and junior high school research. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Also contains 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO - TexShare Core)  Journal Titles List Other Titles List top

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites. Provides full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals, includes full text for 245 pamphlets, and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO - TexShare Select) top

Detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the MLA International Bibliography, including editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO - TexShare Select) Title List top How to Search MLA

A bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association, dating back to 1963 and containing over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Natural & Alternative Treatments (EBSCO - TexShare Core) top 

Contains almost two hundred articles on medical conditions, presenting, in an evidence-based manner, the alternative medicine therapies proposed for use in their treatment. Also contains detailed, evidence-based information on herbs and supplements, functional foods, and other alternative therapies such as acupuncture and homeopathy. The evidence-based content has been developed and reviewed by a team of physicians and pharmacologists with the goal of providing consumers with reliable information. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

netLibrary e-Books (netLibrary - TexShare Core) top FAQ

Digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction. Accessible through the library catalog both on campus and off.

Newspaper Source (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

OAISter (OCLC - Free with WorldCat as of 2009) top FirstSearch Basics

Open archive collections of theses, technical reports, research papers and images. Digitized resources include: digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies and datasets. Updated quarterly.

PapersFirst (OCLC FirstSearch Base Package - TexShare Select) top FirstSearch Basics

Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Covers from 1993 to present.

Primary Search (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Provides full text for nearly 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

ProceedingsFirst (OCLC FirstSearch Base Package - TexShare Select) top FirstSearch Basics

Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference. Covers from 1993 to present.

Professional Development Collection (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Journal Titles ListspacerOther Titles List top 

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a comprehensive, highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles and more than 200 educational reports. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

ProjectMuse Humanities Collection (Schreiner - ProjectMuse) Discipline Journal List Subjects

A collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals designed for institutions acquiring extensively in the humanities. This collection provides a highly relevant set of research journals for art schools, museums, performing arts organizations, film schools, and related institutions. Of the new titles added to MUSE each year, the best of those with a clear humanities focus are added to the Humanities Collection.

MUSE is the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Every journal is heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO - Schreiner) Title List top

Definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology containing more than 40,000 articles from 53 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 8 from allied organizations from 1985 to the present. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Journal Titles List spacerOther Titles List top 

Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Regional Business News (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for more than 50 sources. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Journal Titles List spacerOther Titles List top

This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Research Starters - Business (EBSCO - Trial) (expires June 30, 2009) top

Research Starters supplements textbooks and other materials with current and focused topic overviews, assisting students in undertaking their assignments and research successfully.

Key Features

  • Convenient 3,000-word topic overviews with concise, yet comprehensive content 
  • Overview information on 500 topics parallel to course offerings at major colleges and universities, with links to key articles in associated EBSCO databases
  • Content designed to be appropriate for advanced high school and two/four-year college students, public libraries and selected schools
  • Quality study guides written by highly qualified professors, school administrators, consultants, educators and professional writers

Research Starters - Education (EBSCO - Trial) top

Research Starters supplements textbooks and other materials with current and focused topic overviews, assisting students in undertaking their assignments and research successfully.

Key Features

  • Convenient 3,000-word topic overviews with concise, yet comprehensive content 
  • Overview information on 500 topics parallel to course offerings at major colleges and universities, with links to key articles in associated EBSCO databases
  • Content designed to be appropriate for advanced high school and two/four-year college students, public libraries and selected schools
  • Quality study guides written by highly qualified professors, school administrators, consultants, educators and professional writers

Science & Technology Collection (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier Science - Schreiner) HELP on Finding Full Text Articles top

Subscribed/Full Text Journals List

Provides access to full text articles published from 1993 forward in 200+ Academic Press publications (IDEALibrary) as well as abstracts from over 1700 scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals. Publisher provides free access to full text of some non-subscribed journals and books on an irregular basis. Guest access does not include full text articles.

SciFinder (CAS/ACS - Schreiner) top

A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more!

  • More than 16 million single- and multi-step reactions
  • More than 1 billion predicted and experimental properties
  • The CAS REGISTRYSM database - the original source and final authority for CAS Registry Numbers - updated daily
  • All patent records, meeting CAS selection criteria, from 9 of the major patent offices are available online within 2 days of the patents' issuance
  • Sequences combined from CAS and GenBank databases, which are indexed and linked to scientific journal and patent literature

Scribner Writers Series (Gale - TexShare Core) top

Access to 1,600 original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. Students can go directly to an entry on a specific author, combine search criteria for a much more complex search, or explore thematic and chronological topics to make connections among writers.

Serials Directory (EBSCO - TexShare Core) top

Contains bibliographic information for nearly 184,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, historical data for an additional 20,000 titles and data from nearly 83,500 publishers worldwide. Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

STAT!Ref (Teton Data Systems - TexShare Select) top

 STAT!Ref® online is a cross-searchable, healthcare reference that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Contains 86 titles for 2007-2008.

State Academies of Science Abstracts (SASA - Schreiner) top

An authoritative reference on studies specific to states and regions of the U.S. covering all of the major science disciplines from agriculture to medicine, and chemistry to zoology.

Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO - Free) Title List top

An index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books . This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) (ProQuest - TexShare Core) top

Provides digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of over 12,000 American towns and cities. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. Sanborn maps are valuable research tools for geographers, social historians, urban specialists, genealogists, planners, local historians, architects, environmentalists, and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. Users have the ability to manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and easily print them out.

Texas Reference Center (EBSCO - TexShare Core) top

Includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. Contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

TOPICsearch (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 102,800 articles from more than 2,500 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

Twayne's Authors Series (Gale - TexShare Core) top

Twayne's Authors Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. This online series features the content of nearly 600 books that comprise three print series --United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors.

Twentieth Century American Poetry (ProQuest - TexShare Core) top

Covers more than 316 American poets and includes over 52,000 works.

Twentieth Century English Poetry (ProQuest - TexShare Core) top

Containing tens of thousands of works by 288 poets, Twentieth-Century English Poetry provides an overview of poetry written in the 20th century by both established and emerging writers.

Vocational & Career Collection (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public, this collection provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

World Almanacs  (OCLC FirstSearch Base Package - TexShare Select) top FirstSearch Basics

Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics in Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and four almanacs. Covers 1998 to present.

World History Collection (EBSCO - TexShare Core) Title List top

Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964. Displays links to full text articles in JSTOR when appropriate.

WorldCat (OCLC - TexShare Core) top FirstSearch Basics

Contains more than 58 million bibliographic records for books, manuscripts, web sites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers and videotapes. Represents over 400 languages and uses Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus. Coverage is 1000 BC to present.

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses (OCLC FirstSearch Base Package - TexShare Select) top

This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many of these are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.

2100 Memorial Blvd., Kerrville, Texas 78028 __ phone: 830.792.7312 or fax: 830.792.7448

Revised: 09/23/2009