In the Library
The William Logan Library is named for William M. Logan who was a Presbyterian minister and Chair of the Board of Trustees from 1955-1972.
He was a Presbyterian pastor in Kerrville in 1950 when he was first appointed to the Board, he later served as a pastor in San Antonio, Austin, and Brownwood. His portrait (see image right) hangs in the main part of the Library.
Logan Library's current 34,000 square feet began with an original building of 7,000 square feet. Designed by Ford, Powell and Carson, Inc. of San Antonio, the $5.5 million expansion was completed in 1985 by wrapping new construction completely around the original library.
Today, Logan Library houses over 83,000 volumes and provides Internet access from 25 workstations. Students find quiet contemplation in private study rooms and classes often take advantage of two multimedia machines as well as the 20 computer workstations in the Sun Porch Electronic Classroom. Prior to 1967, the Library was housed in the Tom Murray Building, built in 1940.
The Grand Hall was completed in 1992 with funds provided by the Fish Foundation. The tapestry hanging in the Hall is 5 by 15 feet and was created by Becky Patterson. Based on Psalm 8, it offers Hill Country representations of Adam, Eve, and the Peaceable Kingdom.